Indiana Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

Posted: Tue, 10/11/2011 - 1:09pm Updated: Fri, 02/22/2013 - 2:56pm


The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the nation's highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

Since 1983, more than 4,200 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession. If you know great teachers, nominate them to join this prestigious network of professionals.

Nominations Now Open

The 2013 Awards will honor mathematics and science teachers working in grades 7-12. Nominations close on April 1, 2013. Applications are due by May 1, 2013.

Nominate a Teacher Today

Why Apply?

Recipients of the award receive the following:

  • A certificate signed by the President of the United States.
  • A paid trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities.
  • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

In addition to recognizing outstanding teaching in mathematics or science, the program provides teachers with an opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation. This growing network of award-winning teachers serves as a vital resource for improving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and keeping America globally competitive.

Announcing the 2011 Awardees

On June 11, 2012, the White House announced the winners of the 2011 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Indiana Math: Natelie Schneider (MSD of Lawrence Township)

Indiana Science: Stacy McCormack (Indiana University)