Posted: Tue, 10/04/2011 - 12:53pm Updated: Thu, 03/23/2017 - 9:48am

Each state that applies for Title I funds must include in the annual application an assurance that the state will comply with all requirements of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. This includes participation in NAEP's state and national assessments and its special studies. Because Indiana receives federal funding for educationally disadvantaged students, federal law requires the administration of NAEP in Indiana schools at grades 4 and 8 every two years.

Sec. 200.11 Participation in NAEP.

  1. State participation. Beginning in the 2002-2003 school year, each State that receives funds under subpart A of this part must participate in biennial State academic assessments of fourth and eighth grade reading and mathematics under the State National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), if the Department pays the costs of administering those assessments.
  2. Local participation. In accordance with section 1112(b)(1)(F) of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA), and notwithstanding section 411(d)(1) of the National Education Statistics Act of 1994, an LEA that receives funds under subpart A of this part must participate, if selected, in the State-NAEP assessments referred to in paragraph (a) of this section.
    (Authority: 20 U.S.C. 6311(c)(2); 6312(b)(1)(F), 9010(d)(1))

State Law also requires that sampled schools participate.

Rule 4. National and International Assessments
511 IAC 5-4-1 National assessment of educational progress
Authority: IC 20-10.1-16-15
Affected: IC 20-10.1-16

Sec. 1. Public schools and accredited nonpublic schools shall participate, if selected, in national assessment of educational progress testing. (Indiana State Board of Education; 511 IAC 5-4-1; filed Jun 21, 2001, 3:09 p.m.: 24 IR 3650)

To view the website with important information for participating schools, go to and use your assigned login and password.