Posted: Mon, 09/21/2015 - 12:58pm Updated: Mon, 07/11/2016 - 8:58am


Blue Ribbon Teacher CommissionThe Blue Ribbon Commission on the Recruitment and Retention of Excellent Educators is comprised of 49 members – educators, key stakeholders and legislators – and will develop strategies and suggest legislative action to help recruit and retain excellent educators in Hoosier schools.  The Commission is co-chaired by Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz and Dr. Maryann Santos de Barona, Dean of Purdue University’s College of Education.

The Blue Ribbon Commission has Made it Happen!

A list of the Commission members is available here.

Meeting Dates and Materials

September 11, 2015

Indiana Statehouse - House Chamber

September 24, 2015

Indiana Statehouse - House Chamber

October 5, 2015

Indiana Statehouse - House Chamber

October 15, 2015

Indiana State Library - History Reference Room 211

November 16

Indiana Government Center South - Rooms 4+5

December 7

Indiana Statehouse - House Chamber

The Commission released its final report on January 14, 2016.  The Commission recommended strategies related to mentoring, compensation, evaluation and assessment, a diverse workforce, clinical experiences, positive press, professional development and career pathways and leadership. These recommendations provide support for the education profession as well as enhance local control for schools and corporations to support their staff. Recruitment and retention strategies were developed for each of the four stages of the teaching profession: recruitment, pre-service, induction and career.

View a copy of the Final Report