College and Career Readiness

Posted: Mon, 12/19/2011 - 1:06pm Updated: Wed, 04/27/2016 - 1:13pm

Welcome to the Indiana Department of Education Office of College and Career Readiness. This site will provide you with helpful information regarding the new Indiana Academic Standards, as well as information about content subject areas, Career and Technical Education and STEM. What does it mean to be college and career ready? In Indiana, this is defined as an individual who has the knowledge, skills and abilities to succeed in post-secondary education and economically viable career opportunities.

College and Career Readiness Programs

Indiana Academic Standards - The new state standards were adopted in April of 2014 and outline what students should know and be able to do for each content/subject area and grade level or grade band.

Career and Technical Education (CTE) - Check out this link for some great information about CTE courses and programs, Industry Certifications and the Technical Honors diploma option, and much more!

STEM - is the integration of interdisciplinary literacy across the content areas of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. Indiana has a vibrant and growing STEM community!

Content Subject Area Pages

Related Links

If you would like the Office of College and Career Readiness to provide professional development regarding the new standards, Career and Technical Education, STEM or eLearning, please fill out the Request for Expertise form. Please note the ability of an on-site visit depends on availability and scheduling.

Staff Directory

Name Position Email Phone
Berry, Jennifer Director, College & Career Readiness jberry@doe.in.gov (317) 233-5191
Blomberg, Bruce Social Studies Specialist bblomberg@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9078
Corwin, Jarred Science and STEM Specialist jcorwin@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9175
Eltz, Jeremy Assistant Director of College and Career Readiness jeltz@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9172
Flowers, Nick Elementary Math, Science, and STEM Specialist nflowers@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6619
Johns, Julia Alternative Education/Literacy Specialist jjohns@doe.in.gov (317) 233-4936
Lyday, Jill Literacy Specialist jlyday@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0867
Marschand, Amy High Ability Coordinator marschan@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9107
Martz, Melanie Secondary Literacy Specialist mmartz@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9013
Reed, William Secondary Math and STEM Specialist wreed@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9114
Woerner, Jill Global Learning and World Languages Specialist jwoerner@doe.in.gov (317) 234-5705
Wolf, John Literacy Specialist jwolf@doe.in.gov (317) 234-6702