College and Career Readiness

Posted: Mon, 12/19/2011 - 1:06pm Updated: Wed, 12/03/2014 - 8:18am

Welcome to the Indiana Department of Education Office of College and Career Readiness. This site will provide you with helpful information regarding the new Indiana Academic Standards, as well as information about content subject areas, Career and Technical Education, STEM and eLearning. What does it mean to be college and career ready? In Indiana, this is defined as an individual who has the knowledge, skills and abilities to succeed in post-secondary education and economically viable career opportunities.

College and Career Readiness Programs

Indiana Academic Standards - The new state standards were adopted in April of 2014 and outline what students should know and be able to do for each content/subject area and grade level or grade band.

Career and Technical Education (CTE) - Check out this link for some great information about CTE courses and programs, Industry Certifications and the Technical Honors diploma option, and much more!

STEM - is the integration of interdisciplinary literacy across the content areas of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. Indiana has a vibrant and growing STEM community!

eLearning - The office of eLearning works in tangent with our College and Career Readiness team to provide effective instruction for the evolving needs of diverse learners.

Content Subject Area Pages

Related Links

If you would like the Office of College and Career Readiness to provide professional development regarding the new standards, Career and Technical Education, STEM or eLearning, please fill out the Request for Expertise form. Please note the ability of an on-site visit depends on availability and scheduling.

Staff Directory

Name Position Email Phone
Beatson, Caitlin Literacy Specialist cbeatson@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9173
Berry, Jennifer Director, College & Career Readiness jberry@doe.in.gov (317) 233-5191
Blitzer, Cathy Global Learning and World Languages cblitzer@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9175
Blomberg, Bruce Social Studies Specialist bblomberg@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9078
Deckard, Stefany Agriculture Education and Perkins Specialist sdeckard@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9171
Eltz, Jeremy Science Specialist jeltz@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9172
Fatum, Leslie Asst Dir of College and Career Readiness (Humanities and Literacy) lfatum@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6619
Hill, Sandy Support Specialist shill@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9138
Johns, Julia Alternative Education/Literacy Specialist jjohns@doe.in.gov (317) 233-4936
Lovelady, Tina Support Specialist tlovelad@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9189