College and Career Readiness

Posted: Mon, 12/19/2011 - 1:06pm Updated: Wed, 12/03/2014 - 8:18am

Welcome to the Indiana Department of Education Office of College and Career Readiness. This site will provide you with helpful information regarding the new Indiana Academic Standards, as well as information about content subject areas, Career and Technical Education, STEM and eLearning. What does it mean to be college and career ready? In Indiana, this is defined as an individual who has the knowledge, skills and abilities to succeed in post-secondary education and economically viable career opportunities.

College and Career Readiness Programs

Indiana Academic Standards - The new state standards were adopted in April of 2014 and outline what students should know and be able to do for each content/subject area and grade level or grade band.

Career and Technical Education (CTE) - Check out this link for some great information about CTE courses and programs, Industry Certifications and the Technical Honors diploma option, and much more!

STEM - is the integration of interdisciplinary literacy across the content areas of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. Indiana has a vibrant and growing STEM community!

eLearning - The office of eLearning works in tangent with our College and Career Readiness team to provide effective instruction for the evolving needs of diverse learners.

Content Subject Area Pages

Related Links

If you would like the Office of College and Career Readiness to provide professional development regarding the new standards, Career and Technical Education, STEM or eLearning, please fill out the Request for Expertise form. Please note the ability of an on-site visit depends on availability and scheduling.

Staff Directory

Name Position Email Phone
Lyday, Jill Literacy Specialist jlyday@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0867
McIntyre-Reiger, Alyson Family and Consumer Sciences State Specialist amreiger@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9168
Moore , Davis CTE Specialist dmoore@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0512
Ogle, Eric Business, IT, Entrepreneurship and Marketing Education State Program Leader eogle@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9167
Reed, William Secondary Math Specialist wreed@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9114
Wild, Peggy State Director of Career & Technical Education/Assistant Director of College and Career Readiness for STEM & CTE pwild@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9169
Wolf, John Literacy Specialist jwolf@doe.in.gov (317) 234-6702