You are here

Indiana eLearning Flex Pilot Program

Posted: Wed, 03/26/2014 - 3:36pm Updated: Wed, 09/02/2015 - 10:45am

Flex PilotBeginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the IDOE launched a Flex Pilot Program designed to support school corporations interested in exploring innovative approaches to school schedules by leveraging eLearning options. During the 2013-2014 school year, six school corporations participated in the program. They were: Zionsville Community Schools, M S D Wabash County Schools, Noblesville Schools, Porter Township School Corporation, Maconaquah School Corporation, and Attica Consolidated School Corporation.

Learn more about these programs here.

In 2014-2015, six additional districts joined this group. They were: East Noble, Madison Consolidated, Madison-Grant, Perry Central, Southwest Allen, and Yorktown.  

To be considered for the Flex Pilot a district must complete an online application that indicates the following:

  • A plan for utilizing digital learning that innovatively alters the traditional school day.
  • The ability to provide online learning opportunities that meet the varying needs of their students and include contact with teachers.
  • Accommodations for students with special needs.
  • The availability of breakfast and lunch for students needing that option.
  • At school alternatives for any student unable to remain at home and transportation to school, if needed.
  • A plan for all staff during the Flex times/days.

Applications must include evidence of local school board approval of the proposal.

Proposals are reviewed for thoughtfulness and strength of rationale for the requested flexibility. As part of the review process, members of the IDOE Office of eLearning meet with the district to further discuss the implementation of the program.

Districts accepted into the pilot become part of a collaborative group and meet both virtually and in person with each other and with the Office of eLearning, to discuss challenges and opportunities and to share resources and support.

The application for the 2015-2016 closed on May 22. The school corporations approved for this school year are:

Attica Consolidated School Corporation
Bluffton-Harrison MSD
Eastern Howard School Corporation
East Noble School Corporation
Garrett-Keyser-Butler Community School District
Hammond Academy of Science and Technology
Greater Jasper Consolidated Schools
Lakeland School Corporation
Maconaquah School Corporation
Madison Consolidated Schools
Madison-Grant United School Corporation
MSD Wabash County Schools
Noblesville Schools
Consolidated School District of Shelby County
Porter Township School Corporation
Sheridan Community Schools
Southwest Allen County Schools
Taylor Community School Corporation
West Noble School Corporation
Woodburn Lutheran School
Yorktown Community Schools
Zionsville Community Schools

*This pilot grants flexibility only and does not provide funding.
*This pilot is separate from the Virtual Learning Option for Inclement Weather. The Flex Pilot is NOT to be used as preparation for the Virtual Option.

If you have questions, please email Candice Dodson at