State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Posted: Thu, 07/07/2011 - 11:50am Updated: Mon, 12/01/2014 - 2:05pm

Welcome to the Indiana Department of Education!

We are dedicated to providing the highest quality of support to Indiana’s schools, teachers, students and parents. We are working with educators, policy makers, business leaders, and community based organizations to achieve our mission to build an education system of high quality and equity that is focused on student-centered accountability.

The Indiana Department of Education is using a community approach to educating our children and in building support systems for our schools. No matter where children live in our state, they should enter schools that have equity in resources and the expectation they will receive a high quality education. We have established the division of Outreach for School Improvement to embrace this philosophy and approach to ensuring continuous and measurable improvement for both our students and schools.

Respectfully,
Glenda Ritz
Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction

Staff Directory

Name Position Email Phone
Acobert, Lisa Executive Director of Finance and Business Operations lacobert@doe.in.gov (317) 234-0205
Barnes, John Director of Legislative Affairs jbarnes@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0576
Cochran, Cory Special Assistant to the Superintendent ccochran@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6612
Coyne, Jeffrey Director of Federal Relations jcoyne@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0551
Hartzer, Craig Chief of Staff chartzer@doe.in.gov (317) 234-6790
Naughton, Laura State Board Administrator lnaughton@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6617
Reske, Scott Executive Director of Government and Public Affairs sreske@doe.in.gov (317) 234-6014
Ritz, Glenda Superintendent of Public Instruction superintendent@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6613
Shockey, Danielle Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction dshockey@doe.in.gov (317) 234-6904
Snelling, Selina Executive Assistant to the Chief of Staff snelling@doe.in.gov (317) 233-3457