Error message

Warning: Illegal offset type in isset or empty in user_access() (line 830 of C:\BitNami\apache2\htdocs\modules\user\user.module).

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Posted: Thu, 07/07/2011 - 11:50am Updated: Mon, 08/24/2015 - 9:49am

Glenda Ritz was elected the 43rd Superintendent of Public Instruction in 2012. Superintendent Ritz leads the Indiana Department of Education with over 230 dedicated professionals serving our schools and communities in all 92 counties. The department distributes over $8 billion dollars each year of state and federal funds to educate approximately one million students in more than 2000 schools. Superintendent Ritz is dedicated to working with educators, families, policy makers, business leaders, and community-based organizations to achieve the Department of Education’s mission of building an education system of equity and high quality that is focused on student-centered accountability.

During her first year as Superintendent, Glenda Ritz launched the new Outreach Division of School Improvement. This new school improvement division is comprised of experienced educators that serve as coordinators in nine regions throughout the state of Indiana to provide a grassroots level of support for Indiana schools. This unique support system of working with school leaders and educators resulted in the transformation of 103 D or F public schools into A, B, or C public schools in a single year and moved over 60,000 children into better schools through significant improvement in student learning. 

Superintendent Ritz also partnered with over 260 partners throughout the state, including the Indiana National Guard, to launch the Hoosier Family of Readers. What began as a summer program to encourage reading among K-12 students has now expanded to a year-round literacy initiative for students and families. Students read more than 61,000 books in the summer of 2013 and more than 78,000 books in the summer of 2014.

Glenda Ritz has been an educator since 1978, and until her election in 2012 as the Superintendent of Public Instruction, she served as a Library Media Specialist at Crooked Creek Elementary School in Indianapolis, Indiana. She is one of 168 National Board Certified Teachers in Indiana, and she holds two masters degrees with licenses to teach elementary, middle and high school in the areas of special education, general education, and library science.

Staff Directory

Name Position Email Phone
Acobert, Lisa Executive Director of Finance and Business Operations lacobert@doe.in.gov (317) 234-0205
Barnes, John Director of Legislative Affairs jbarnes@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0576
Cochran, Cory Assistant Director of Government Affairs ccochran@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6617
Coyne, Jeffrey Director of Federal Relations jcoyne@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0551
Hartzer, Craig Chief of Staff chartzer@doe.in.gov (317) 234-6790
Mansfield, Annie Executive Assistant to the Superintendent amansfield@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6612
Regnier, Risa Assistant Superintendent of School Support Services rregnier@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0501
Reske, Scott Executive Director of Government and Public Affairs sreske@doe.in.gov (317) 234-6014
Ritz, Glenda Superintendent of Public Instruction superintendent@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6613
Shockey, Danielle Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction dshockey@doe.in.gov (317) 234-6904
Snelling, Selina Executive Assistant to the Chief of Staff snelling@doe.in.gov (317) 233-3457
Walsh, Steve Special Assistant to the Superintendent swalsh@doe.in.gov (317) 234-0959
Weldy, Pete Director of Policy and Research pweldy@doe.in.gov (317) 234-4703