Posted: Thu, 06/23/2016 - 2:48pm Updated: Mon, 07/03/2017 - 4:22pm

Out-of-State teachers who obtained an instructional license in another state by completing a state approved educator preparation program or a state approved alternative preparation program and passing a licensure test in their content area(s), may be eligible for “full” licensure in Indiana on or after July 1, 2016

Recent legislation in Indiana allows the acceptance of out-of-state licensure tests.  Many content areas can be added to licenses through testing alone.

There are seven (7) content areas for which Indiana requires completion of an approved preparation program in addition to taking and passing a content test.  These seven (7) areas are: (1) Exceptional Needs, (2) English Learners, (3) Early Childhood Generalist, (4) Elementary Education Generalist, (5) Fine Arts, (6) Communication Disorders and (7) High Ability.  (511 IAC 15-7-1(e)).  License reciprocity in these seven (7) areas is not available through testing alone. Evidence of a preparation program specific to these areas must also be provided. 

Licensure deficiencies in these areas will be determined and communicated by Licensing credential evaluators.

Applicant must provide official documentation of passing licensure test scores (See step-by-step instructions below).

License from other states must be “full”, not temporary, emergency, substitute or other.

An out-of-state license must be valid at the time of evaluation for Indiana licensure.

Years of teaching experience earned in other states will determine the license obtained in Indiana: 

  • Initial Practitioner (2 year license) – Obtained with less than three (3) years of teaching experience completed
  • Practitioner (5 year license) – Obtained with more than three (3) years of teaching experience is completed

Teaching experience must be gained in an accredited institution
Substitute teaching experience does not count

Those who are currently teaching on Reciprocal permits in Indiana and have been issued evaluation letters that outline deficiencies including testing may benefit from this new legislation.   (See step-by-step instructions below).

WHERE DO YOU STAND IN THE PROCESS?

If you How can I tell What you need to do
... have already applied and paid for your evaluation, but the evaluation has not been completed
  1. Click on application status in your LVIS account
  2. Application status is:
    1. Ready for Evaluation
    2. DOE Material Review

Nothing!  Our office will indicate in your evaluation letter what you are eligible for prior to July 1, 2016 and after July 1, 2016. If you meet the requirements in the new law, you must wait until after July 1, 2016 to make the second payment for licensure.   Please be patient as there are lots of evaluations that have been pending

… have not started an application and I want to apply for an evaluation for licensure under this new law   See below:  Original Application
... have already have been issued an Indiana reciprocal permit.  You can view your permit under View/print Licenses in your LVIS account. See below:  Reciprocal Permit to License - this application cannot be done until after July 1, 2016.
... have already been evaluated by our evaluators and have received an e-mail from one of our evaluators indicating you are eligible for a reciprocal permit AND HAVE NOT MADE THE 2ND PAYMENT.
  1.  You have received an e-mail from one of our evaluators. 
  2.  The subject of the email is Evaluation/Deficiency letter
  3. The first paragraph indicates you are eligible for a reciprocal permit.
After July 1, Applicant applies for Original/ Instructional application AGAIN.  Upload all required docs and there is a NEW upload under Optional documentation for your Indiana Evaluation/Deficiency letter.
... have already been evaluated by our evaluators and have received an e-mail from one of our evaluators indicating you are NOT eligible for a reciprocal permit.
  1.  You have received an e-mail from one of our evaluators. 
  2.  The subject of the email is Evaluation/Deficiency letter
  3. The first paragraph indicates you are NOT eligible a license.
  1. If you have a valid out-of-state license, you must send a copy of your valid out-of-state license to transcript@doe.in.gov.
  2. If you do not hold a valid out-of-state license, your evaluation letter indicates your deficiencies and you must complete them to obtain licensure.

 

FAQs and Scenarios

Original Application   Reciprocal Permit to License

 

Step-by-Step Instructions

Original Application for Licensure in Indiana (never applied for licensure in Indiana).

Download the PDF file

Required Documents: (Some documents must be uploaded again even if they were uploaded on a different application)

  • Copy of valid CPR card from IDOE approved provider. The hands-on component accompanying on-line certification is a requirement. See website: CPR-Heimlich Maneuver-AED Certification
  • Copy of valid out of state teaching license. If you do not hold one, please upload a statement. Without a valid out of state license, one will not be eligible for immediate reciprocity (Reciprocal Permit). Out-of-state licenses that have expired will not be considered.
  • Verification of teaching experience must be on school letterhead and signed. If no teaching experience beyond student teaching has been completed, please upload a statement.
  • Official transcripts that bear the sign and/or seal of the registrar, degree issued and date conferred. Provide transcripts for ALL completed coursework at ALL institutions attended. Transcripts must be included with evaluation materials. Do NOT order transcripts to be sent directly to the Office of Educator Effectiveness and Licensing. Transcripts may be emailed to transcript@doe.in.gov.
  • Official Score Reports of licensing tests taken. Please see the Teacher Testing website for more information.
  • Suicide Prevention Certificate. See website: Suicide Prevention Training.

Step-by-Step Instructions:

  1. Click on the LVIS Portal Link.
  2. Click Create Profile
  3. Fill out all the required fields and click Create Profile.
  4. Go to your personal e-mail and find the e-mail(s) LVIS just sent you. It will be from “System Administrator.” If it ended up in your SPAM/JUNK e-mail folder, you need to add the e-mail address to your contact or safe senders list.
  5. Click the link “Verify e-mail.”
  6. Log into your LVIS account.
  7. Click Add Application.
  8. Select Original
  9. Select Instructional
  10. Select Original Instructional
  11. Type in the Subject Areas you wish to have on your license.
  12. Click Next.
  13. Click Add Recommending Institution Entry. Select the state and type in the name of the college/university. Be sure add all institutions where you did your education coursework or program.
  14. Click Next
  15. Answer the questions. Upload required documentation, if requested. Click Next.
  16. Upload the required documentation and optional documentation. Click Next. Read the paragraphs below the required documentation for instructions on what to do if you don’t have the required documents.
  17. If you have everything completed, you will be able to “Submit Application.” If not, you need to fix what is missing. Missing materials will be in RED.
  18. Click the link to pay for all pending applications.
  19. Mark the box under the Pay?
  20. Fill out all the Billing information.
  21. Click Review Summary.
  22. Click box under Refund Policy.
  23. Click Submit.

To save an uncompleted application, click “Save for Later” at the bottom of the page. When ready to access that application again, click “Application Status” on the right hand side and “Edit” the application that is “In Process.”

 

Reciprocal Permit to Professional Educator License

  • Do not apply until after July 1, 2016.

Download the PDF file

Required documentation (Some documents must be uploaded again even if they were uploaded on a different application)

  • A copy of your evaluation/deficiency letter
  • A copy of your valid CPR card or letter promising to complete CPR within 1 year.
  • A copy of your Suicide Prevention Training.
  • A copy of your official transcripts (these will go in the proof of completed deficiencies)
  • A copy of your test scores.

 

Step-By-Step Instructions:

  1. Log into your LVIS account.
  2. Click on Add Application on the right hand side. 
  3. Click the Original
  4. Select the license type in the next drop down
  5. For Requirement Type Click Reciprocal Permit Conversion to Standard License.
  6. Type in your subject area
  7. Click Next.
  8. A Recommending Institution is not required, Click Next.
  9. Answer the questions. If you answer yes to any of them, you will need to upload the documentation required.  Click Next
  10. Upload the required documentation.  
  11. If you have everything completed, you will be able to Submit Application. If not, you need to fix what is missing. Missing materials will be in RED.
  12. Click the link to pay for all pending applications.
  13. Mark the box under the Pay?
  14. Fill out all the Billing information.
  15. Click Review Summary.
  16. Click box under Refund Policy.
  17. Click Submit.

To save an uncompleted application, click “Save for Later” at the bottom of the page. When ready to access that application again, click “Application Status” on the right hand side and “Edit” the application that is “In Process.”