Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Amanda Eller
(317) 937-5615

Indianapolis – Dr. Jennifer McCormick has officially selected two members for her Indiana Department of Education Cabinet, her Chief of Staff and her Senior Advisor.

Dr. McCormick has chosen Dr. Lee Ann Kwiatkowski as Chief of Staff. Dr. Kwiatkowski has spent 28 years in education. She most recently was the Assistant Superintendent for School Improvement at MSD Warren Township and a member of the State Board of Education. “It is my honor to have been selected by Dr. McCormick to serve on her Cabinet. I believe my unique administrative experiences at the state, federal, and district levels will contribute to the Department's work in addressing the educational challenges ahead,” said Dr. Kwiatkowski.

Dr. Mark Keen has been selected to serve as Dr. McCormick’s Senior Advisor. Not only is Dr. Keen a retired Army LTC, he has spent 45 years working within the educational field. Most recently, Dr. Keen has served as a special advisor at the Department of Workforce Development. Dr. Keen stated, “I am thrilled with the opportunity to serve with Dr. McCormick in helping lead and support the students and educators of Indiana. Having served as superintendent in a school corporation for over 19 years, I am aware of how the DOE can help or hinder efficient and effective operations in school corporations and believe I can be part of a team that will provide quality help to increase learning opportunities and outcomes for all Indiana children.”

Dr. McCormick commented, “Dr. Kwiatkowski and Dr. Keen both have great minds and are incredible educational leaders and people. Our state is fortunate to have both of them serving for the betterment of our children. It is my honor they join our team.” Dr. Keen and Dr. Kwiatkowski will join Dr. McCormick when she takes office in 2017.