Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Samantha Hart
Press Secretary
(317) 232-0550

The Indiana Department of Education received a $100,000 grant to develop a detailed career readiness action plan to support Hoosier students. The New Skills for Youth grant was awarded by the Council of Chief State School Officers in partnership with JPMorgan Chase and Advance CTE. As part of the work of the grant, the Department will continue to work with state education and career stakeholders to advance Indiana’s career readiness plan.

“I look forward to further developing a comprehensive and detailed career readiness action plan with the support of the New Skills for Youth grant,” said Glenda Ritz, Indiana’s Superintendent of Public Instruction. “As Superintendent, I am dedicated to ensuring that all students graduate from high school with the skills they need to be successful. These funds will help us move towards that goal.”

Indiana is among 24 states and the District of Columbia that received New Skills for Youth grants. The grants are one piece of a five-year initiative developed by JPMorgan Chase, in partnership with the Council of Chief State School Officers and Advance CTE, aimed at increasing economic opportunity for young people by strengthening career-focused education, beginning in high school and ending with postsecondary degrees or credentials.

In addition to the $100,000 grant, Indiana will receive expert technical assistance and peer support from other grantees to perform a diagnostic assessment of the state’s career preparation system. Selected states are also eligible to apply for a phase two New Skills for Youth grant to implement their career readiness action plan.

An independent advisory committee recommended grant recipients after a rigorous review process that considered states’ proposed plans, cross-sector partnerships, and demonstrated commitment and capacity to transform their systems of career preparation according to the grant guidelines.

Additional information about the New Skills for Youth grant opportunity is located on the Council of Chief State School Officers’ website: