Thursday, September 4, 2014
Daniel Altman
Press Secretary
(317) 232-0550

INDIANAPOLIS – Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz announced the ten finalists for Indiana Teacher of the Year. The list will further be narrowed to the top with the winner to be announced in October.

“As a life-long educator, I have always been impressed by the work the teachers do throughout Indiana day after day,” said Superintendent Ritz. “These teachers have demonstrated their dedication to their craft and their students and I am honored to name them as finalists for Indiana Teacher of the Year."

The 2015 Top Ten Teacher of the Year finalists are as follows:

Tina Ahlgren
Grades 8-12, Mathematics
Shortridge Magnet High School for Law and Public Policy
Indianapolis Public Schools

Gail Alexander
Grade 11, English
Heritage Jr/Sr High School
East Allen Community Schools

Dawn Boling
Grade 7, Math
Highland Hills Middle School
New Albany Floyd County Schools

Peter De Kever
Grade 10, English
Penn High School
Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation

Carol Draeger Thomas
High School, English
Rise Up Academy
South Bend School Corporation

Matthew Ehresman
8th Grade Social Studies
Center Grove Middle School Central
Center Grove Community School Corporation

Audrey Fetters
Flint Springs Elementary
Huntington County Community School Corporation

Kathy Nimmer
Grades 10-11, English
William Henry Harrison High School
Tippecanoe School Corporation School

Jennifer Query
High School, Exceptional Learners
Lawrence Central High School
MSD of Lawrence Township

Roger Tyler
Grades 9-12, Choir and Piano Keyboard Labs
Connersville High School
Fayette County Community School Corporation