Thursday, September 3, 2015
Daniel Altman
Press Secretary
(317) 232-0550

INDIANAPOLIS – Today, Indiana’s Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz announced the members of the Blue Ribbon Commission on the Recruitment and Retention of Excellent Educators.  The Commission consists of educators, key stakeholders and Legislators throughout Indiana.  It will develop strategies to help recruit and retain excellent educators throughout the state.  Dr. Maryann Santos de Barona, Dean of Purdue’s College of Education, will co-chair the Commission with Superintendent Ritz.

“I am excited to announce the members of this important Commission,” said Glenda Ritz, Indiana’s Superintendent of Public Instruction.  “As a life-long educator, I know the importance of having excellent teachers in our classrooms and the effect they have on our students.  I also know that administrators throughout Indiana have been having a harder time finding and retaining the teachers they need in their schools.  That is why I will be using the work of this commission to shape the legislative agenda for the Department of Education for the upcoming legislative session.”

Indiana has seen a significant decline in the number of individuals receiving initial teacher licenses issued in recent years.  Specifically, there has been an 18% drop in the number of initial teacher licenses issued over the last five years.  Schools of education have also reported significantly declining enrollments in recent years.

The Indiana Department of Education has been researching the recruitment and retention of excellent educators in Indiana since early 2015.  The Center on Great Teachers and Leaders and Great Lakes Comprehensive Center will guide the Blue Ribbon Teacher Commission members in digging deeper into this data and developing solutions to help recruit and retain excellent educators.

The Commission will meet for the first time in Indianapolis on September 11.  A full list of the members is below.

Co-Chair: Glenda Ritz, NBCT, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction
Co-Chair: Dr. Maryann Santos de Barona, Dean, Purdue College of Education

Dr. Celeste Allen                               Perry Township Schools (retired)
Ellen Augustine                                 Middlebury Community Schools
Dr. Melanie Beaver                            Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College
Mary Beth Borkowski                         MSD Washington Township
Commissioner Steve Braun                Department of Workforce Development
Charles Cammack, Jr.                        Fort Wayne Community Schools
Dr. Sandi Cole                                   Indiana University – Center on Education and Lifelong Learning
Ashley Cowger                                  State Board of Education (staff)
Carey Dahncke                                  Charter Schools
Laurie Davies                                    Avon Community Schools
Dr. Hope Smith Davis                        Indiana University – South Bend
Joshua Francis                                   Indiana Tech
Stephen Gainey                                 MSD Warren Township
Keith Gambill                                    Indiana State Teachers Association
Ginger Giessler                                  Fort Wayne Community Schools
Dale Groves                                       New Prairie United School Corporation (school board)
Nancy Hannah                                   Middlebury Community Schools
Dr. Kandi Hill-Clarke                         Indiana Association of Colleges for Teacher Education
Karin Huttsell                                    Northwest Allen County Schools
Dr. John Jacobson                              Ball State University
Dr. Lisa Lantrip                                  Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents
Dr. Angela Lupton                              Butler University
Dr. Marvin Lynn                                 Indiana University – South Bend
Alicia Madeka                                    School City of Hammond
Dr. Sandra McCormick                       Perry Township Schools (retired)
Tim McRoberts                                  Indiana Association of School Principals
Jeannette Melcic                                 School City of Hammond
Dr. Jon Milleman                                Indiana Teacher Appraisal and Support System
Dr. Colleen Mulholland                      University of Indianapolis
Kathy Nimmer                                    Tippecanoe School Corporation
Kimberly Osborn                                MSD Lawrence Township
Melanie Park                                      Huntington County Community School Corporation
Dr. Paul Parkinson                             University of Evansville
Keana Parquet                                   MSD Washington Township
Steve Perkins                                     MSD Washington Township
Representative Gregory Porter            Indiana House Democratic Caucus – Indianapolis
Matthew Presley                                 LaPorte Community School Corporation
Marjorie Ramey                                  Westfield Washington Schools
Diane Scott                                         Lebanon Community School Corporation
Sally Sloan                                          American Federation of Teachers Indiana
Dr. Brian Smith                                   Indiana School Boards Association
Zach Smith                                         Commission for Higher Education
Dr. Shenia Suggs                                Indiana Urban Schools Association
Vickie Thomas                                   School City of Hammond
Representative Randy Truitt               Indiana House Republican Caucus – West Lafayette
Scott Turney                                      Indiana Small and Rural Schools Association
Tony Willis                                         Cathedral High School