Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Samantha Hart
Press Secretary
(317) 232-0550

INDIANAPOLIS – Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz awarded more than $16 million in School Improvement Grants today.  These 1003(g) grants were awarded to fourteen schools on a competitive basis to support the implementation of comprehensive school improvement plans. 

“As I travel the state, I see school leaders and educators working every day to improve instruction and outcomes for Hoosier students,” said Ritz.  “I am dedicated to supporting the great work that is happening in our schools and providing additional resources to support our students.  That is why I am pleased to award more than $16 million in School Improvement Grants today to support this important effort.”

School Improvement Grants provide funding to schools that demonstrate a need for additional funds as well as a commitment to use the funds to raise student achievement in low performing schools.  Selected schools are awarded funds to strategically implement one of six approved school improvement models.  Of today’s grantees, Lena Dunn Elementary will be implementing an early learning model, while thirteen others will implement a transformation model.  1003(g) School Improvement Grants are funded by the federal government. 

A list of the schools who received five year School Improvement Grants can be found below.

School Corporation Funding
Bon Air Middle School Kokomo Community Schools $862,659.00
Cedar Hall Community Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation $1,044,190.00
Edgewood Elementary Michigan City Area Schools $638,884.75
Elwood Intermediate Elwood Community School Corporation $913,757.00
George H. Fisher School #93 Indianapolis Public Schools $1,322,504.00
Highland Middle School Anderson Community Schools $1,379,145.00
Lena Dunn Elementary Washington Community Schools $757,105.00
Madison Primary South Bend Community School Corporation $3,079,780.00
Maple Crest Middle Kokomo Community Schools $873,107.00
Mary Beck Elementary Elkhart Community Schools $763,110.00
Pettit Park Elementary Kokomo Community Schools $852,644.00
Pierre Moran Middle Elkhart Community Schools $1,150,961.00
River Valley Middle School Greater Clark County Schools $1,340,179.40
Sunny Heights Elementary MSD of Warren Township $1,158,164.00

Additional information about School Improvement Grants can be found on the Department’s website.