Title I Distinguished Schools

Posted: Fri, 10/07/2011 - 2:41pm Updated: Tue, 07/16/2013 - 3:55pm

The National Title I Distinguished Schools Program, a project of the National Association of State Title I Directors, provides an opportunity for Title I schools from every state to be publically recognized for their positive educational achievements. Each state may select two schools for national recognition; a maximum of one from each of the following categories:

  • Category 1: Exceptional Student Performance for two or more years - NCLB, Section 1117 (b)(1)(B)(ii)
  • Category 2: School that has significantly closed the achievement gap between student groups - NCLB, Section 1117(b)(1)(B)(i)

Selected schools must have a poverty rate of at least 35% for the selected year, demonstrated Exemplary Progress and met or exceeded AYP for two or more consecutive years. After phone interviews are conducted with the principals, site visits examine effectiveness in the following areas:

  • teaching and learning based on the approved state curriculum;
  • use of research-based instructional strategies;
  • opportunities provided for all students to achieve;
  • coordination of Title I program with other programs;
  • implementation of sustained research-based professional development; and
  • established partnerships with parents, families, and the community.

The following table lists each Title I Distinguished School, as well as a link to each school's snapshot, since the 2006-2007 school year.

2011-2012 Lincoln Elementary School - Fort Wayne Community Schools
2011-2012 Allisonville Elementary School - MSD Washington Township
2010-2011 Southport Elementary School - MSD of Perry Township
2010-2011 Jonas E. Salk Elementary School - Merrillville Community Schools
2009-2010 Lincoln Elementary School - Warsaw Community Schools
2009-2010 William F. Loper Elementary School - Shelbyville Central Schools
2008-2009 Webster Elementary School - Plymouth Community School Corporation
2008-2009 Hawthorne Elementary School - MSD of Warren Township
2007-2008 Handley Elementary School - LaPorte Community School Corporation
2007-2008 Lakeside Elementary School - MSD of Warren Township
2006-2007 Fox Hill Elementary School - MSD of Washington Township
2006-2007 Leesburg Elementary School - Warsaw Community Schools