Outreach Division of School Improvement

Posted: Tue, 07/16/2013 - 2:14pm Updated: Thu, 06/02/2016 - 12:54pm

Indiana Outreach County Divisions

About the Outreach Division of School Improvement

The Indiana Department of Education is committed to creating equitable and high quality opportunities for all Indiana students by providing levels of support and intervention to Indiana schools. The Outreach Division of School Improvement will accomplish this mission of support through the use of Regional Coordinators while collaborating with the nine educational service centers throughout Indiana. The Assistant Superintendent and Director of Outreach have intentionally created at team with a diverse educational background and depth of experience along with highly developed interpersonal skills. Their background of experience and skills will enable them to provide levels of support for all Indiana Schools: Reward, Focus, and Priority. The Outreach Team’s mission is to be supportive, responsive, and proactive.

The Outreach Team will provide support and resources that align with the US Department of Education’s Turnaround Principles, which includes, but not limited to:

  • Studying school data and School Improvement Plans and assist with improving schools by building on each school’s strengths. 
  • Ensuring the implementation of educator and administrator evaluation plans
  • Providing assistance to schools based on the priority of needs identified in the School Improvement Model. 
  • Monitoring progress of Focus and Priority Schools.
  • Building partnerships with community organizations to connect schools with appropriate services.
  • Connecting schools to network for best practices that support the turnaround principles.

By providing schools a prescriptive and proactive approach of supports and interventions, it is the IDOE’s goal to improve services to schools and ultimately improve student academic growth and achievement.

Outreach has Made it Happen!

Name Position Email/Phone
Brennan, Kathryn Director of Outreach kbrennan@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-9164
Brown, Teresa Assistant Superintendent of School Improvement tabrown@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-0524
Bundridge, Daniel Director of District Improvement dbundridge@doe.in.gov
(317) 518-4280
Corbin, Sheila Outreach Coordinator - Region 3 scorbin@doe.in.gov
(317) 518-5364
Dainton, Maggie Intervention Coordinator mdainton@doe.in.gov
(317) 234-2137
Dercach, Lisa Outreach Coordinator - Region 7 ldercach@doe.in.gov
(317) 518-1361
Freeman, Tabitha Outreach Coordinator - Region 9 tfreeman@doe.in.gov
(317) 607-8796
Hairston , Starr Outreach Coordinator - Region 9 shairston@doe.in.gov
(317) 760-4509
Havey, Rachael Intervention School Coordinator rhavey@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-0515
Hernandez, Christine Outreach Coordinator - Region 6 chernandez@doe.in.gov
(317) 646-2000