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Instructional Days and Time Requirements 
Frequently Asked Questions 

2015-2016 
 

NOTE: Performance Qualified High Schools and Districts are those who have earned an “A” in A-
F rating and have flexibility available to them directly related to instructional time. Full 
information related to this option is available on the DOE Accreditation web site.  

1. What is instructional time?  

Instructional time is defined as time in which students are participating in an approved 
course, curriculum, or educationally related activity under the direction of a teacher. 
Instructional time includes a reasonable amount of passing time between classes within 
a single school building or school campus. Instructional time does not include lunch or 
recess. (IC 20-30-2-1) 

2. What is an “educationally related activity”? 

An “educationally related activity” is defined as a non-classroom activity, such as a field 
trip or convocation, which meets all of the following criteria:  

a. Is consistent with and promotes the educational philosophy and goals of the 
school corporation and the Indiana State Board of Education.  

b. Facilitates the attainment of specific educational objectives.  

c. Is a part of the goals and objectives of an approved course or curriculum.  

d. Represents a unique educational opportunity.  

e. Has been approved in writing by the school principal.  

f. Cannot reasonably occur without interrupting the school day.  

(IC 20-33-2-17.5) 

3. What is the minimum length of the school year?  

Each school shall conduct at least 180 student instructional days. (IC 20-30-2-3) 

http://www.doe.in.gov/accreditation
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4. Must a school corporation provide every student at every grade level with 180 days of 
instruction?  

Yes. State law requires that every student in Grades 1 through 12 be provided the 
opportunity to attend 180 instructional days every school year. (IC 20-30-2-3) The law, 
however, is not an attendance law. Excused and unexcused absences are determined 
according to local policy. [See below for additional information about kindergarten 
issues.]  

5. Are there any restrictions or requirements for school calendars beyond minimum 
instructional time and the 180 day requirements? (i.e. – school year start date, 
vacation days, school breaks, tentatively scheduled snow and/or cancelled make-up 
days, and graduation date.) 

No. Individual calendars are set at the local level and approved by appropriate 
personnel or local school board.  

6. May instructional days be scheduled on holidays, Saturdays or Sundays? 

Yes. The same instructional time requirements apply to these days as any other 
instructional day the school intends to count toward its 180 day requirement. In order 
for a day to count as a full instructional day, students in grades 1-6 must be offered five 
hours of instruction and students in grades 7-12 must be offered six hours of instruction, 
not including lunch and recess.  

7. Are there any restrictions on days that are in addition to the 180 minimum student 
instructional days?  

No. Indiana law establishes the minimum school day and school year. The number and 
structure of instructional days beyond the 180 day requirement (including, but not 
limited to, program and professional development, parent-teacher conferences, student 
days beyond 180, and other days) will be determined locally.  

8. May a school corporation establish a year-round education calendar?  

The term “school year” is defined by IC 20-18-2-17 as a period of time beginning July 1 
through June 30 of the following year, except when a different period is specified for a 
particular purpose. A school corporation may determine locally the calendar dates 
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between July 1 and June 30 of any school year when the 180 student instructional days 
are scheduled.  

9. How is the minimum school year requirement enforced?  

If a school corporation does not conduct 180 student instructional days, the Indiana 
Department of Education is required to impose a financial penalty upon the school 
corporation. The dollar amount of the penalty is determined using a formula that yields 
the proportion of tuition support that would have been generated had students been in 
school for 180 instructional days. (IC 20-30-2-4) The minimum 180 instructional day 
requirement is also enforced as one of the legal standards required for accreditation. 
Not later than June 15, school corporations shall certify to the Indiana Department of 
Education, through the DOE-CID, the number of instructional days conducted during the 
school year. (IC 20-30-2-3) 

10. Does the Department of Education have the authority to waive the financial penalty?  

Yes. Under Indiana law, the Indiana Department of Education has the authority to grant 
a waiver of the financial penalty for a canceled instructional day if the day was canceled 
due to extraordinary circumstances. A school corporation may apply for a waiver of the 
financial penalty for the corporation or for an individual school by completing a 
“Request for Waiver of Penalty for Loss of Instructional Days” form. This form is now 
located at the Learning Connection in the Accreditation Community. Note, however, that 
schools are expected to conduct 180 days of instruction and the Department of 
Education will exercise its waiver authority only under the most compelling 
circumstances. (IC-20-30-2-5) 

NOTE: In Indiana, severe weather, including snow, is not considered an extraordinary 
event, even in large amounts. This includes situations when a county emergency is 
declared. It is the local school district’s responsibility to design a school calendar that 
provides sufficient makeup days built into the calendar to meet the state statute 
requirements. 

11. What is the minimum length of a student instructional day?  

A student instructional day consists of a minimum of five (5) hours of instructional time 
in Grades 1 through 6 and six (6) hours of instructional time in grades 7 through 12. (IC 
20-30-2-2(a)) Instructional time does not include lunch or recess. 
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Note: Schools that include both elementary grades (1-6) and secondary grades (7-8) 
must provide 360 minutes of instruction for the older students. 

Neither statute nor rule dictates the minimum instructional time for Kindergarten. The 
minimum instructional time for Kindergarten traditionally has been one-half of the 
instructional time for grades 1 through 6.  

An instructional day for a school flex program consists of a minimum of three hours of 
instructional time. (IC 20-30-2-2(b))  

12. Must every instructional day be a full day?  

Yes. An instructional day must meet the minimum time requirements of five (5) hours of 
instruction for grades 1-6 and six (6) hours of instruction for students in grades 7-12 in 
order for the day to be counted toward the 180 day requirement.  Two ½ days may not 
be combined to count as a full instructional day.  

13. Are half days of instruction allowed? 

No. Every school day must include the required minimum amount of instructional time 
in order to qualify as a one of the 180 instructional days. IC 20-30-2-2; IC 20-30-2-3.  

14. May a school shorten the daily instructional time requirement to conduct parent-
teacher conferences or professional development activities and count the day as a full 
day?  

No. Parent-teacher conferences and professional development activities do not count as 
instructional time and must occur outside of the minimum daily instructional time 
requirement.  

15. Can a school shorten its instructional day by the amount of time that is in excess of 
the daily minimum instructional time requirements and have it count as a full day? 

Yes. Once daily instructional time requirements are met (5 hours grades 1-6 / 6 hours 
grades 7-12, it is a local decision as to how the remaining time is utilized.  It has been 
common for school districts that exceed minimum time requirements to occasionally 
schedule early dismissals or late arrivals during this excess amount of time for staff 
development activities or parent-teacher conferences. 
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For example, when a school’s normally scheduled day exceeds state minimum time 
requirements by 50 minutes, the school may choose to dismiss classes 50 minutes early 
each Wednesday. Those 50 minutes can then provide time for weekly staff development 
activities.  

These planned early dismissals must be cancelled on days when inclement weather 
requires a delayed start to the day in order that students receive the state required 
instructional time. 

16. Is a day that is shortened due to an extraordinary circumstance, using either a delayed 
arrival or early dismal of students, counted as a full day?  

The law defines minimum instructional time requirements for a student instructional 
day.  A day that does not meet this minimum time requirement cannot count as a full 
day. However, the Department has determined that an automatic waiver will be 
granted under the following circumstances:  

a. School starts no more than two hours after the regular start of the school day 
and the delay must have been caused by weather-related conditions or a loss of 
utility service. The school must adjust its schedule so that students do not miss 
all planned instruction in any curriculum area.  

b. School is dismissed no more than two hours before the regularly scheduled end 
of the school day and the dismissal was due to weather-related conditions or 
loss of utility service.  

c. Schools may also utilize a three hour delay, provided the additional hour of lost 
instructional time is added to the end of the same school day to ensure that the 
net instructional time lost is no more than 120 minutes total. 

These circumstances are the only reasons for automatic waivers. Two hour delays or 
early dismissals may NOT be used for non-emergency purposes such as parent 
conferences or professional development. 

If both situations (delay AND early dismissal) occur on the same day for any reason, the 
day will not be counted as an instructional day.  School corporations and accredited 
nonpublic schools that have half-day kindergarten classes should implement a policy for 
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weather and emergency-related delays that ensures that neither the morning nor the 
afternoon kindergarten session is affected disproportionately.  

17. Must high schools have class periods that meet a minimum number of minutes per 
week or day? 

No. Effective January 2011, the Indiana State Board of Education formally repealed the 
“seat time” requirement for awarding high school credit.  Schools may choose to award 
high school credits by “demonstration of proficiency” (usually an assessment or other 
collection of experiences that demonstrate mastery of the content standards of the 
course).   

“Credit” is now defined as a “demonstration of proficiency against the academic 
standards in a course that meets the following requirements: 

1. The course is an approved course and complies with the approved course 
description. 

2. For those courses for which Indiana academic standards are defined, the course 
is consistent with Indiana academic standards. 

3. For those courses for which there is a Core 40 end of course assessment, the 
required proficiency is at or greater than that required to pass the assessment. 

Multiple credits may not be awarded for the same course unless the approved course 
description permits multiple credits to be awarded.” 511 IAC 6-7.1-1. 

Subjects/courses in grades 1-8 also do not have minimum time requirements. 

18. If our corporation has an approved e-Learning program may we use e-Learning format 
for our students on a scheduled make up weather day or for unscheduled closure 
days? 

Yes. If your school corporation has an approved application with the Department then 
you are permitted to host e-Learning days on a scheduled make up weather day or for 
unscheduled closure days. 

Any questions regarding how e-‐Learning is used should go through the Indiana 
Department of Education’s E-‐Learning Office. 317-‐232-‐9119 or 
http://www.doe.in.gov/elearning.  

http://www.doe.in.gov/elearning
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19. What is the minimum number of student instructional days for Full and Half Day 
Kindergarten programs?  

Full Day Programs – Full day kindergarten programs must offer 180 full days of 
instruction. Schools that offer a full day program are funded based on a formula 
distribution for the 180-day instructional school year. Activities such as, but not limited 
to, individual screenings and home visits that do not provide instruction to a full class of 
kindergarten students do not constitute an instructional day.  

Half Day Programs – Half day kindergarten programs must offer students 180 half days 
of instruction. The Indiana State Board of Education and the Indiana Department of 
Education permit a school to offer an alternating full day program that operates for 90 
full student instructional days. School corporations and accredited nonpublic schools 
should implement a policy for weather and emergency-related delays that ensures that 
neither the morning nor the afternoon kindergarten session is affected 
disproportionately. Activities such as, but not limited to, individual screenings and home 
visits that do not provide instruction to a full class of kindergarten students do not 
constitute an instructional day.  

20. Must every student have a full class schedule?  

Yes. The Indiana State Board of Education’s instructional time rules require schools to 
provide a full instructional day to all students. This requirement includes seniors. A 
student instructional day is defined as a minimum of five (5) hours of instructional time 
in Grades 1 through 6 and six (6) hours of instructional time in Grades 7 through 12. This 
means that every student in Grades 1 through 12 must have the opportunity to come to 
school for 180 full days.  

Students may not be granted early release.  

A high school student who is enrolled in at least twelve (12) credit hours of on-campus 
dual credit courses (as described in IC 21-43-1-2.5) is not required to comply with the 
minimum six hours of instructional time during the semester in which the student is 
enrolled in at least twelve (12) credit hours. 
Shortened class schedules may be approved for students whose educational programs 
require a shortened schedule.  
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Such circumstances might include: 

a) Career and Technical students who have approved career/technical education 
programs that include an employment component. 

b) Special education students whose individualized education programs (IEPs), as 
developed under 511 IAC 7, call for a shortened schedule. 

c) Students receiving homebound instruction. 
d) Students enrolled in college courses under the post-secondary enrollment 

program. IC 21-43-4; IC 21-43-1-2.5.  
e) Students enrolled in adult education programs. 
f) Students enrolled in non-public schools, but who participate in public school 

programs on a part-time basis. 
g) Kindergarten students on a traditional half-day schedule. 
h) Students participating in the School flex program. (IC 20-30-2-2.2) 
i) Students with unusual or extraordinary circumstances such as those who are: 

1) Pregnant or parenting. 
2) Residing in a detention center. 
3) Participating in an alternative education program. 
4) Emancipated and have to work but are still of school age. 
5) Experiencing a temporary medical condition but do not qualify for 

homebound instruction. 
j) Returning to complete their graduation requirements after having dropped out 

of school several years ago. 
k) Attending an alternative to suspension or expulsion program. 

21. Is there a minimum percentage of students who must be in attendance to have the 
day count as an instructional day? 

No. Public and accredited nonpublic schools are required to develop a local attendance 
system for reporting symptoms and health outbreaks. The school nurse is required to 
report any known or suspected reason for the excessive rate of absenteeism directly to 
the superintendent or designated administrator. 512 IAC 1-2-1. 

Public and accredited nonpublic schools are required to report to the local health 
department and the state attendance officer the percentage of student absences when 
the percentage of students absent from a school is equal to or greater than 20% of the 
enrolled students. Reports are not required on days immediately before or after a 
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school vacation day or a scheduled instructional day that is canceled due to any 
weather-related-emergency. 512 IAC 1-2-2. 

More information regarding communicable diseases can be found on the Department’s 
Health page.  http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/health.   

The online form for absences equal to or greater than 20% can be found at 
http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/health/reporting-form-absenteeism-over-20  

School districts who have to make difficult decisions to make-up classes by extending 
the school year or holding classes on holidays or Saturdays must make every effort to 
encourage students to treat these days as any other day of school. Accurate attendance 
records must be kept for these days. 

22. If a school is experiencing excessive absences because of health issues, will the school 
receive a waiver of the financial penalty for failing to meet the 180 day requirement if 
the school closes? 

For a waiver approval consideration, the DOE requires that a school be ordered to close 
by their county health department in such cases. 

Schools experiencing these issues should contact the Department for guidance before 
making the decision to close. There is an online form for this purpose. Once completed, 
the Department will have someone respond and consult with school officials. 

http://www.doe.in.gov/accreditation/school-closure-consideration-form-due-health-
related-reason. 

23. May schools permit students not participating in the high school ISTEP+, End of Course 
Assessment testing or Final Exams to attend less than a full instructional day on 
scheduled test days?  

No. All students must attend a full instructional day on scheduled test days. Late arrival 
or early dismissal waivers are only permissible in instances of inclement weather or loss 
of utility services and may not be used for purposes of test administration.  

24. Is travel time for area career and technical school programs counted as instructional 
time?  

Some students participating in area career and technical school programs do not receive 
a full instructional day due to transportation difficulties. Reasonable travel time to these 
programs may be included in computing the minimum school day.  

http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/health
http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/health/reporting-form-absenteeism-over-20
http://www.doe.in.gov/accreditation/school-closure-consideration-form-due-health-related-reason
http://www.doe.in.gov/accreditation/school-closure-consideration-form-due-health-related-reason
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25. May seniors attend fewer than 180 instructional days to facilitate graduation-related 
activities?  

No. All students, including seniors, must be offered 180 days of instruction. The State 
Board rule allowing for a senior graduation waiver has expired.  

26. May students graduate from high school after six semesters of attendance in Grades 9 
through 12?  

Yes. Minimum semester requirements were repealed a few years ago, allowing students 
to graduate whenever they meet state and local graduation requirements, including 
passing the required graduation exam and meeting minimum (Core 40) diploma 
requirements.  

An individual is eligible for a Mitch Daniels Early Graduation Scholarship [IC 21-12-10] if 
the individual: 

a) is a resident of Indiana, as defined by the commission; 

b) attended a publicly supported school on a full-time equivalency basis (as defined 
in IC 20-43-1-14) for at least the last two (2) semesters before the individual 
graduated from high school; 

c) had legal settlement (as defined in IC 20-18-2-11) in Indiana for at least the last 
two (2) semesters before the individual graduated from high school; 

d) met at least the minimum requirements set by the Indiana state board of 
education for granting a high school diploma by the end of grade 11 (including 
any summer school courses completed before July 1 of a year) and was awarded 
after December 31, 2010, a high school diploma by the publicly supported school 
that the individual last attended for course credits earned before the end of 
grade 11; 

e) was not enrolled in a publicly supported school for any part of grade 12; 

f) applies to the commission for a Mitch Daniels early graduation scholarship in the 
manner specified by the commission; and 

g) within five (5) months after graduating from high school, becomes a student in 
good standing at an approved postsecondary educational institution whose 
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students are eligible to receive a higher education award (IC 21-12-3-11) or a 
freedom of choice grant (IC 21-12-4-4) and is engaged in a program that will lead 
to an approved postsecondary degree or credential. 

 


