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FAQs Answer 

I only took Praxis I. 
I only took the CASA tests. 

The law states “was required to pass a content licensure test…” 
Applicant will not be able to use this law for licensure. 

 
If I have a valid out- of- state license and I 
passed that other state’s content tests in 
all the areas on my license, do I still have 
to pass Indiana’s pedagogy test? 

 

No. If you meet the requirements under IC 20-28-5-18 you will 
not be required to take and pass Indiana’s pedagogy test. 

I passed all the content licensure tests in 
another state, but it was years ago and I 
don’t have the score reports. What do I 
do?   

 
In order to have your out- of- state licensure content tests 
accepted for licensure in Indiana, you must be able to produce an 
official score report or other official documentation of your 
passing scores. If you cannot, you will be issued a one-year 
Reciprocal permit during which time you must pass Indiana’s 
licensure tests, including pedagogy. 
 

When and how do I submit proof of valid 
CPR/AED/Heimlich certification and proof 
of completion of suicide prevention 
training?   

 
Although applicants qualifying for an Indiana license under IC 20-
28-5-18 have up to one year to submit documentation of valid 
CPR/AED/Heimlich certification and proof of completion of 
suicide prevention training, the DOE encourages applicants to 
complete these requirements at the time of making the initial 
application  when the documentation can be uploaded in the 
application. If the documents are submitted at a later time, they 
may be scanned and emailed to transcript@doe.in.gov.  Please 
include your name as it appears on your license, date of birth, 
and license number to ensure the documents are attached to 
your application.  Applicants that do not qualify for licensure 
under IC 20-28-5-18 will be required to complete 
CPR/AED/Heimlich certification and suicide prevention training 
prior to any license being issued per IC 20-28-5-12. 
 

What reciprocity process will be followed 
for out-of-state applicants that do not 
meet the criteria for licensure under IC 20-
28-5-18?   

 
The Office of Educator Effectiveness and Licensing will apply the 
existing reciprocity process based on rules promulgated by the 
State Board of Education, which may require the applicant to 
complete coursework and testing deficiencies while teaching on a 
one-year Reciprocal Permit.  Reciprocal Permits may be renewed 
upon evidence the teacher is making progress toward completing 
deficiencies and achieving full licensure. 
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FAQs Answer 

When I was evaluated initially, I was told I 
would get a Practitioner (5 year) license.  
Now I am only getting an Initial 
Practitioner (2 year) license.  Why? 

Under the new law, you must have completed 3 years of teaching 
experience in an accredited institution.   

I have already uploaded ALL of my 
documents, why are you making me do 
this again 

We apologize.  We have an abundance of evaluations and this 
process ensures we can evaluate everyone! 
 

I taught for 2 years in my other state and 
have now taught in Indiana on a reciprocal 
for 1 year, will I be issued a 5 year license? 

Assuming we have evidence of ALL teaching experience, then yes 
to the 5 year. 
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The scenarios below are offered to illustrate how reciprocity for out-of-state applicants will apply for 
instructional licenses starting July 1: 
Scenario Answer 
 
Scenario #1 
Applicant completed an approved 
preparation program in Biology in State X, 
passed the State X Biology licensure test, 
holds a valid State X teaching license in 
Biology and has one year of teaching 
experience in an accredited school. 
 

Applicant will be issued an Indiana Initial Practitioner License 
(valid 2 years) in Life Science for grades 5-12 and will have up 
to one year to complete CPR certification and suicide 
prevention training.  

 
Scenario #2 
Applicant completed an approved 
preparation program in Elementary 
Education and English as a New Language 
(ENL) in State Y, passed the State Y 
licensure tests in Elementary Education 
and ENL, holds a valid State Y license in 
both areas and has 3 years of teaching in 
an accredited school. 
 

Applicant will be issued an Indiana Practitioner License (valid 5 
years) for Elementary Generalist K-6 and English Learners P-12 
and will have up to one year to complete CPR certification and 
suicide prevention training. 

Scenario #3 
Applicant holds a valid license in Physics 
and Math in State B. Applicant completed 
an approved preparation program in 
Physics and passed State B’s licensure test 
in Physics. 

 
Applicant was allowed to add Math to his license solely by 
passing State B’s Math licensure test. Applicant has 5 years 
teaching experience in an accredited school. Applicant will be 
issued an Indiana Practitioner license in Physics and Math 5-12 
and will have up to one year to complete CPR certification and 
suicide prevention training. 
 

 
Scenario #4 
Applicant completed an approved 
preparation program in Language Arts in 
State Z and holds a valid Language Arts 
License; applicant was not required to 
pass a content test for licensure in State Z. 
   

Applicant will be issued an Indiana Reciprocal Permit in 
Language Arts (valid one year) and will be required to pass 
Indiana’s Core licensure tests in Language Arts and Pedagogy. 
Once the tests are passed, applicant will receive either an 
Initial Practitioner license or a Practitioner license depending 
on the years of teaching experience completed. 
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The scenarios below are offered to illustrate how reciprocity for out-of-state applicants will apply for 
instructional licenses starting July 1: 
Scenario Answer 

Scenario #5 
Applicant holds a valid license from State 
A in Language Arts and Mild Intervention. 
Applicant completed an approved 
preparation program in Language Arts and 
passed State A’s Language Arts licensure 
test.  State A allows applicant to add Mild 
Intervention to her license solely by 
passing State A’s Mild Intervention test.   
Applicant has 2 years teaching experience.   

 
Applicant will be issued an Indiana Initial Practitioner license in 
secondary Language Arts. Applicant will be issued a Reciprocal 
Permit in Mild Intervention and will be advised that a program 
of mild intervention coursework meeting Indiana’s educator 
standards is a deficiency for full licensure. Applicant will be 
referred to a list of Indiana institutions approved to offer Mild 
Intervention licensure programs. As the applicant completes 
coursework the reciprocal permit can be renewed annually. 
Once the coursework deficiencies are completed, Mild 
Intervention P-12 will be added to the teacher’s “full” license in 
Language Arts.  
 

Scenario #6 
Applicant holds a valid license from State 
D in Elementary Education, Reading and 
High Ability. Applicant completed an 
approved preparation program in 
Elementary Education and passed State 
D’s Elementary Education test. Applicant 
did not complete a preparation program in 
Reading or High Ability but was able to 
add those areas solely by passing State D’s 
licensure tests. Applicant has 8 years 
teaching experience. 

 
Applicant will be issued an Indiana Practitioner license for 
Elementary Generalist K-6 and Reading P-12.  Applicant will be 
issued a Reciprocal Permit in High Ability and will be advised 
that a program of high ability coursework meeting Indiana’s 
educator standards is a deficiency for full licensure. Applicant 
will be referred to a list of Indiana institutions that are 
approved to offer High Ability preparation programs. As the 
applicant completes coursework the reciprocal permit can be 
renewed annually. Once the coursework deficiencies are 
completed, High Ability P-12 will be added to the teacher’s 
Practitioner license in Elementary Generalist and Reading.  
 

 
Scenario #7 
Applicant holds an expired license from 
State A in Life Sciences.  Applicant 
completed an approved preparation 
program in Life Science.  Applicant passed 
State A’s licensure test.  Applicant holds a 
valid license in State B.  State B accepted 
State A’s licensure test to issue license in 
State B.  Applicant has 4 years of teaching 
experience.    

Applicant will be issued an Indiana Practitioner License (valid 5 
years) for Life Science and will have up to one year to complete 
CPR certification and suicide prevention training. 

 


