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INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
 Requirements and Guidelines for Indiana High School Transcripts  

 
Introduction 
This document provides guidance for high school transcripts.  It covers the items that 
MUST be included, as well as additional items that may be added at the discretion of the 
school.  It will be regularly updated to address questions posed by administrators and 
counselors.   
 
Indiana High School Transcript  
A high school transcript is the official academic record of the courses and credits 
completed by a high school student.  It may be produced in hard copy or electronic 
format.  An official paper copy of the document contains an official signature and seal of 
the school.  An e-transcript submitted through Parchment is also considered an official 
transcript. 
 
Common Electronic Transcript  
Per IC 21-18-12, by July 1, 2015 all public secondary schools shall use a common 
electronic transcript with common data fields and formats developed by the 
Department of Education, Commission for Higher Education, and state educational 
institutions. Data fields and additional resources regarding this requirement can be 
found here. Note that required data fields found on the ‘Common Transcript Data 
Elements’ spreadsheet are noted as ‘CT-R’ (common transcript required) or ‘IC-R’ 
(Indiana Code required).       
 
A. Required Components 
Indiana Code 20-33-2-13 requires that school corporations include the following 
information in the official transcript of a high school student: 

1. Attendance records. 
2. The student’s latest ISTEP+ test results. 
3. Any secondary or postsecondary certificates of achievement earned by the 

student. 
4. Immunization information. 
5. Dual credit courses from the Core Transfer Library taken by the student. 
In addition to the required components noted in Indiana Code, the common 
electronic transcript requires specific components, which are noted as ‘CT-R’ 
(common transcript required) in the common transcript data elements spreadsheet.  

 
A1. Attendance Records 
Though the law does not specify, the Department recommends that the high school 
transcript show, at a minimum, the number of days a student has been absent in the 
school year.  Schools may include additional attendance information such as 

https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/021/articles/018/chapters/012/
http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/student-assistance/indiana%E2%80%99s-common-electronic-transcript
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/020/articles/033/chapters/002/
http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/student-assistance/indiana%E2%80%99s-common-electronic-transcript
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attendance by semester or trimester, etc.  The date of enrollment, date of 
graduation or date of withdrawal or exit interview should also be included.   
 
A2. ISTEP+ Test Results 
Results of the most recent ISTEP+ Graduation Qualifying Exam or End-of-Course 
Assessments must be included on the high school transcript.  Schools may opt to 
include the actual ISTEP+ numerical score which is preferred or just the results (e.g. 
Pass, Did Not Pass, etc). 
 
A3. Secondary or Postsecondary Certificates of Achievement 

       The term “Certificate of Achievement” refers to any academic or technical award, 
       distinction or honor the student has earned.  Examples include an AP Scholars 
       award, Biliteracy Certificate, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) certificate, National  
       Merit Scholarship and other similar awards or certificates.  The decision of what  
       awards and distinctions to list or not list on the transcript is an individual school   
       decision. Note that a “Certificate of Achievement” does not refer to a document  
       given to students who are not meeting graduation requirements.   

 
A4. Immunization Information 
Since required immunizations change frequently, contact your local school nurse for 
current requirements or review the most current immunization requirements on the 
Health Services page of the IDOE website at http://www.doe.in.gov/student-
services/health.  
 
In order to comply with I.C. 20-33-2-13, a school may: 

 list the immunizations on the transcript by entering into the student 
information system; 

 attach a pdf of immunizations from CHIRP;  

 state “immunization record has been entered into the Indiana State 
Department of Health immunization data registry (CHIRP)”; or 

 place a verification statement on the student’s transcript stating, “The 
student’s immunization record is in compliance with IC 20-34-4-1.”  If this is 
the chosen method, the school must provide a copy of the student’s 
immunization record maintained by the school pursuant to I.C. 20-34-4-1 
along with the transcript.    

 
To ensure a student’s privacy, do not include any other health information on or 
with the transcript.  Health records should be maintained separately from the 
student’s transcript.  The confidentiality of health records should be strictly 
maintained according to federal privacy regulations. 
 
A5. Dual Credit Courses 
Any dual credit courses listed on the Indiana Core Transfer Library (see 
www.transferin.net/ctl) that a student takes must be listed on the student’s high 

http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/health
http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/health
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2014/ic/titles/020/articles/034/chapters/004/
http://www.transferin.net/ctl
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school transcript.  This is part of the state law that lists transcript 
requirements. Note that in order to meet the dual credit options for the Technical 
Honors Diploma and Academic Honors Diploma dual credit courses do not have to 
be from the Core Transfer Library but do have to be on the approved dual credit 
list*.  Therefore, dual credit courses listed on the CTL and the approved dual credit 
list (if being used to meet a course or credit requirement), must be included on the 
high school transcript.  Courses should be listed whether or not the student earns 
high school or college credits for the course.   
Effective July 1, 2013, the transcript must reflect that the secondary credits were 
earned at an eligible institution (Ex: US HistoryHST 101 Ivy Tech) (see IC 21-43-4-5).  
*Effective with students who entered high school in the 2012-13 school year (class 
of 2016), dual credit courses must be from the approved dual credit course list to 
meet the Academic or Technical Honors diploma option(s).  

 
B. Transcript Format 

B1. Clarity and Legibility Issues 

 Transcripts should be typed or computer-generated. 
o No handwritten items including corrections or insertions should be 

included. 

 Photocopies must be clear and readable. 

 State approved course titles and four-digit state course numbers must be 
used (CT-R)  

 Standard course abbreviations are suggested.  
o See the ‘Abbreviation’ column in the “Indiana High School Course 

Titles Summary,” at http://www.doe.in.gov/achievement/ccr/course-
titles-and-descriptions.    

 Course records should be listed chronologically by grading period. 
 

B2. High School/Corporation Information 
Transcript should include: 

 High school name, address, phone number, Indiana Department of Education 
(IDOE) high school code (four digits), name and email address of a contact 
person, and high school website 

 School corporation name, address, phone number, IDOE school corporation 
code (four digits), school corporation website, and corporation contact for 
student records 

 Grading scale used by the school 

 Official school seal and authorized official signature if submitting in paper 
format 

 College Board six digit CEEB (or AI) code (CT-R) 
 

B3. Student Information 
 Transcript should include a student’s: 

http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/021/articles/043/chapters/004/
http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
http://www.doe.in.gov/achievement/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
http://www.doe.in.gov/achievement/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
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 Full legal name, home address, phone number, email address for student 

 Gender 

 Date of birth 

 Student Test Number (STN) 

 Name(s) of parent(s) or legal guardian(s) 

 Grade level at time transcript is prepared 
 

B4. Student Academic Information 

 Schools should use Indiana state-approved course titles and four-digit course 
numbers (or approved non-standard course titles): 

o See list and course codes at: 
http://www.doe.in.gov/achievement/ccr/course-titles-and-
descriptions  

 All courses to be counted toward a student’s diploma requirements must be 
listed on the high school transcript with grades and credits (including PE and 
Health courses) and factor into the cumulative GPA. 

 Designation of diploma type awarded should be included:  
o General 
o Core 40 
o Core 40 with Academic Honors 
o Core 40 with Technical Honors 
o International Baccalaureate                                                               

 Cumulative grade point average (GPA) should be calculated by semester, 
trimester, or on an annual basis.  The total number of credits earned by the 
student should also be listed. 

 Class rank may be listed at the option of the school. 

 No Pass/Fail grades are to be listed for Core 40 or Honors diploma candidates 
and may not be used for the 34 (of the 40) credits required for the General 
Diploma. 

 The listing of course retakes, audits, etc. may be decided locally. 

 Honors and/or weighted courses should be clearly identified. 

 Dual credit courses should be listed according to the information in the 
Questions & Answers (Q.9) section below. 

 Credits for courses completed before grade nine should be listed according 
to the information in the Questions & Answers (Q.4) section below. 

 College Board policy suggests that PSAT/NMSQT scores not become part of 
any student’s transcript or permanent record that is routinely shared with 
outside entities, such as colleges, scholarship organizations, or potential 
employers. Read more in the Questions & Answers section below (Q.14).   

 ACT policies (see www.act.org) allow schools to locally decide whether to list 
ACT scores on a student’s transcript.  

 Testing scores such as scores for ASVAB, Work Keys or other assessments, in 
addition to ISTEP+ results, may be included but are not required. Guidance 

http://www.doe.in.gov/achievement/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
http://www.doe.in.gov/achievement/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
https://collegereadiness.collegeboard.org/pdf/official-educator-guide-psat-nmsqt-psat-related-assessments.pdf
http://www.act.org/
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regarding the inclusion of Advanced Placement (AP) scores can be found in 
Q. 22 below.      

 Notations referencing that credits were earned through an alternative 
education program, correspondence course, online course, etc. are not 
appropriate.  If the course covers the Indiana Academic Standards required 
for the course, no additional notation is needed.    

 School awards and/or honors earned in Grades 9-12 such as Salutatorian, 
Valedictorian, Honor’s Society, etc. may be listed but are not required.                    

 
B5. Special Education Students:  

 No disclosure of disability should be noted on a transcript. 

 Where accommodations are used to meet state course standards, grades 
should not be listed as adjusted or modified. 

 In cases where a student’s IEP allows for accommodations to help the 
student master the academic standards of a state-approved course, no 
distinction needs to be made to the course title on the transcript.  For 
example, if a student’s approved accommodations are used to help the 
student master the content of Algebra I, the course should be listed on the 
transcript as Algebra I instead of Algebra I-SP (or other differentiation). 
 
However, if modifications or changes are made to the required course 
standards or content, the official state course title should not be used.  In 
these situations, for example, a significantly modified Algebra I course should 
not be listed as “Algebra I” on the transcript but could be listed under a non-
standard course title.  For non-diploma track students, 0500 is “Basic Skills 
Development,” which could be used for any basic skills class in any content 
area.   

 
B6.  English Learner (EL) Students: 

 A student’s English Language Proficiency level, as determined through the 
administration of the annual WIDA ACCESS assessment, may be included on the 
transcript.  This is a local decision.  Schools may opt to include the student’s 
overall proficiency score as determined by the annual language assessment.  
 

Common Questions & Answers 
 

1. Can subjective comments or recommendations be included on the transcript? 
 
It is not recommended.  If a school wishes to provide subjective comments or 
recommendations for the student at the student’s request, that information should 
be put into a separate letter.  

 
2. How should it be recorded if a student fails a course but then retakes it and 

passes? 
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This is a local school corporation or school governing body decision.     

 
3. How would the GPA be figured if a student fails a course but then retakes it and 

passes? 
 
This is a local decision.  If the grade is noted on the transcript, it should be factored 
into the GPA.    

 
4. How should a high school credit earned prior to high school be recorded? 

 
If the local school corporation policy is to issue high school credit for courses taken 
in middle school, and the course is equivalent to its high school counterpart and 
taught by a highly qualified teacher, the course should be noted on the transcript in 
the same way the other courses are noted.  The grades and credits must be included 
on the transcript if being used to meet high school diploma requirements.  
Refer to the IDOE memo on ‘High School Credit for Courses Completed Prior to Grade 
9’.                                                        

 
5. How are courses and outcomes for non-diploma track students recorded? 

 
See section B5 above. 
 

6. How does a student qualify for a GQE/ECA waiver and should it or a Certificate of 
Completion or Achievement be identified on the transcript?   

 
Waiver information is in IC 20-32-4-4.  The Department recommends that waiver 
information not be recorded on the transcript.  A waiver simply means that the 
student accomplished the requirements but that a different assessment mechanism 
was used.  Information about non-diplomas (Certificate of Completion, 
Achievement, etc.) can be found in the “Diplomas and Certificates” memo.  
 

7. Who can request that a transcript be sent to an institution?   
 
A parent, or student after the student has turned 18, may request that a transcript 
be sent to an institution of higher education or vocational program.  The Family 
Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) permits schools to afford minor students 
rights in addition to those given to parents.  Once a student turns 18 years old, the 
rights under FERPA transfer from the parents to the student.  This may also be true 
for emancipated minors.   Indiana does not have a specific statute permitting a 
minor child to seek a court order emancipating the child from his or her parent(s).  
Instead, Indiana law recognizes that a child may, in some circumstances, be 
emancipated for purposes of child support.  In those situations, an Indiana court 
may deem the child emancipated and order the termination of a support order; 

http://www.doe.in.gov/sites/default/files/student-assistance/credit-grade-9-memo-2015-final.pdf
http://www.doe.in.gov/sites/default/files/student-assistance/credit-grade-9-memo-2015-final.pdf
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/020/articles/032/chapters/004/
http://www.doe.in.gov/sites/default/files/student-assistance/certificates-and-diplomas-memo-spring-2014.pdf
http://www.ed.gov/policy/gen/guid/fpco/ferpa/index.html
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however, this order does nothing change any other rights or obligations of the 
child’s parents, nor does the order provide additional rights to the student.  That 
being said, if a minor has been deemed emancipated by a court order, that minor 
should be afforded similar access to his or her student records in the same manner 
as the student’s parent(s) and should be treated, for purposes of FERPA, as an adult.  
When the student attends a postsecondary institution, even if he or she is under 18 
years of age, the student may review the record in the postsecondary institution. 

 
      The provisions of FERPA are as follows: 

  Generally, schools must have written permission from the parent or eligible 
               student in order to release any information from a student’s education record.  
          However, FERPA allows schools to disclose those records, without consent, to 
               the following parties or under the following conditions (34 CFR § 99.31): 

 school officials with a legitimate educational interest; 

 other schools to which a student is transferring; 

 specified officials for audit or evaluation purposes; 

 appropriate parties in connection with financial aid to a student; 

 organizations conducting certain studies for or on behalf of the school; 

 accrediting organizations; 

 to comply with a judicial order or lawfully issued subpoena; 

 appropriate officials in cases of health and safety emergencies; and 

 state and local authorities, within a juvenile justice system, pursuant to 
specific state law. 

 
 When a record is disclosed in the types of situations indicated above, the 
              originating agency must note in the record the names of the parties who 
              received the information and an explanation of the legitimate educational 
              interest under the record was disclosed. FERPA requires agencies or schools to 
              account for all education records release, indicating the reasons the 
              information was provided and who received it. These explanations must be 
              recorded in the student’s record and maintained there until the agency 
   destroys the record. 
 
  Schools may disclose, without consent, “directory” information, such as a  
              student’s name, address, telephone number, date and place of birth, honors 
              and awards, and dates of attendance. However, schools must tell parents and  
              eligible students about directory information and allow parents and eligible 
              students a reasonable amount of time to request that the school not disclose  
              directory information about them. Schools must notify parents and eligible 
              students annually of their rights under FERPA. The actual means of  
              notification (e.g., special letter, inclusion in a PTA bulletin, student 
              handbook, or newspaper article) is left to the discretion of each school. 
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  For additional information or technical assistance on FERPA, call 
              (202) 260–3887.  

 
8. What immunization records need to be part of the transcript and where are they 

available? 
 
Required immunizations change frequently.  Contact your local school nurse for 
current requirements or review a copy of the most current immunization 
requirements posted on the Health Services page of the IDOE website.  To insure a 
student’s privacy, do not include any other health information on the transcript. 
 
Parent permission must be on file before any part of the student’s record can be 
accessed or recorded outside of the school’s permanent or health records.   

 
9. How should dual credits be listed on the transcript?  

See #32 on the Indiana Dual Credit Q & As.  
Dual credit courses must be titled in one of two ways on the high school transcript:  
1. Use a combination of the college course title and the appropriate state-approved 

high school course title if it has been determined that the dual credit college 
course meets the Academic Standards for the corresponding high school course. 
For example, a college-level American History course – HST 101 from Ivy Tech 
Community College – may appear on the high school transcript as “US 
History/HST 101 Ivy Tech.” In these instances, the state-approved high school 
course title should be listed first, followed by the college course number and the 
eligible institution where the credits were earned.  
Note that the student’s high school transcript must reflect that the secondary 
credits were earned at an eligible institution. 
 

2. If the course is taught on the college campus or through the college campus 
(online or by a visiting faculty member), there may be no aligned, corresponding 
high school course. In this situation, approved course titles by content area 
would read “Advanced ______, College Credit/College Course Title (Institution 
Name). For example, Advanced Business, College Credit/ACC 202 (BSU). 
Additional Advanced College Credit course titles can be found in the State 
Approved Course Titles and Descriptions.  
For more complete information regarding the correlation of high school dual 
credit courses to the post-secondary courses, see the Dual Credit Crosswalks for 
liberal arts and CTE (http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/dual-credit).  
 
• These Advanced course titles are not typically used for dual credit courses 
taught in a high school class by high school faculty, unless otherwise indicated.  
 
• For more information regarding specific Advanced coursework questions, 
contact the IDOE for further clarification and guidance.  

http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/health
http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/dual-credit
http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/dual-credit
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• Course titles may be abbreviated (e.g., Adv. Comp), but must be used in 
conjunction with the college course title, number, and institution (e.g., Adv. Soc 
Studies CC/HST 101, Institution). Note that the maximum size for the ‘State 
Course Name/Title electronic transcript data field is 60.  

• When space on the transcript is limited, it is permissible to put an asterisk or 
subscript notation on the high school course title and list more details about the 
dual credit course in a “miscellaneous” or “notes” section of the transcript to 
include the number of college credits earned.  

 
As a result of legislation that passed in 2013, on July 1, 2015, it became a 
requirement for all public secondary schools to use the common electronic 
transcript, which includes a dual course designation under ‘Enrollment Type.’  

 
*Note that for college admissions purposes, the college credit would need to be 
transcripted and therefore the student should request to have a transcript sent from 
the postsecondary institution where the dual credit was earned to the institution for 
which they are applying for admission.  
 

10. How should credits earned through a virtual environment, credit recovery 
situation, or credits earned by demonstration of proficiency be recorded on the 
transcript? 
 
These courses should be noted the same way you would record classes taken 
traditionally as long as they cover the respective content in the Course Description 
and Academic Standards.  No additional notations should appear beside these 
courses since student’s had to have met course standards in order for credit to be 
awarded. 

 
11. If a student tests out or demonstrates proficiency without taking a course, how 

should it be noted on the transcript?  
 
How or if it is recorded on the transcript is a local decision.  However, only those 
courses listed on a HS transcript with grades and credits count for graduation.  The 
State Board of Education made this decision several years ago because grades are 
taken into account when determining a student’s GQE/ECA waiver and status for 
financial aid.  For example, if a student tests out of Algebra I and you put credits but 
not grades on the HS transcript, those credits would not apply toward the 
graduation requirements and that student would need three more years of Core 40 
math courses to meet the Core 40 requirement.  

  
12. If a student completed Algebra I in middle school and has met the required 8 

credits for the AHD (without counting the Algebra I credits), would the Algebra I 
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course have to be included on the transcript and would the GPA have to be 
factored into the student’s cumulative GPA? 
 
Technically, Algebra I credits don't have to appear on a student's high school  
transcript as long as he or she has six (Core 40) or eight (AHD) math credits in 
courses at a higher level than Algebra I (including Algebra II).  Six math credits must 
be earned during grades 9-12.  See more information here.  

 
13. Can a student take a class for a pass/fail grade if they are trying to earn the 

General Diploma? 
 
No Pass/Fail grades are allowed for courses that count toward the Core 40 and 
Honors diplomas.  GQE/ECA waivers require grades of “C” or higher in 34 of the 40 
required and elective courses that count for the GQE/ECA waiver so they could not 
be Pass/Fail.  P/F grades may be used with the General Diploma as long as they are 
in addition to the 34 (of the 40) required and elective courses that count for the GQE 
waivers.  Physical education and health are both required courses so P/F is not an 
option for any diploma for these courses. 
 

14. Should SAT or PSAT scores be listed on a high school transcript? 
 
College Board policy (p. 23) suggests that PSAT/NMSQT scores not become part of 
any student’s transcript or permanent record that is routinely shared with outside 
entities, such as colleges, scholarship organizations, or potential employers. Sharing 
of scores should only be at the student’s request. The same policy applies to SAT 
scores, which can become particularly important since students have the option of 
score choice, allowing them to choose which scores are sent to colleges.   

 
15. If a school corporation has questions regarding the use of the Indiana E-

Transcript/Parchment who might they contact? 
 

Contact Matt Sterenberg at Parchment – msterenberg@parchment.com  
*Note that by July 1, 2015, all public schools shall use a common electronic 
transcript to be developed by the Department of Education, state educational 
institutions, and the Commission for Higher Education per IC 21-18-12.  
 

16. Are there other ways to meet the PE/Health credits so the transcript reflects that 
the student met diploma requirements? 
 
Yes.  Below are a few alternative options. 
1) 511 IAC 6-7.1-9 states that a school board may recognize military experience.  A 

maximum of four credits may be recognized for basic training (2 credits for 
physical education and 2 credits for health and wellness with one credit granted 
for each three months of service).    

http://www.doe.in.gov/sites/default/files/student-assistance/credit-grade-9-memo-2015-final.pdf
https://collegereadiness.collegeboard.org/pdf/official-educator-guide-psat-nmsqt-psat-related-assessments.pdf
mailto:msterenberg@parchment.com
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/021/articles/018/chapters/012/
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=511&iaca=6&submit=+Go+
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2) 511 IAC 6-7.1-4 states that the health and wellness credit requirement may be 

waived for a student if the student’s program includes: 
o Three credits for the following family and consumer sciences courses:  Child 

Development and Parenting, Human Development and Family Wellness, 
Interpersonal Relationships, Nutrition and Wellness, or Preparing for College 
and or careers.  

 
3) For a student who qualifies under the religious objection provision of IC 20-30-5-

9 (hygiene instruction), a one credit substitution of either a science, family and 
consumer sciences, or health and physical education credit may be used to fulfill 
the Health and Wellness credit requirement. 
 

4) In 2009, the State Board of Education made several rule changes, including the 
definition of credit, to allow schools more flexibility in working with students and 
engaging them in challenging content. Students can earn PE credit using 
alternative options but it is important to note that all required PE standards must 
still be met and the credit granted by an appropriately licensed PE teacher. 
Additional information can be found here.    

 
17.  Will the NCAA accept credits earned before Grade 9? 

 
       Yes, a high school course taken in the eighth grade may be used if the course is on 
       the student’s high school transcript with a grade and credit and if the course is on   
       the high school's List of NCAA-Approved Core Courses. 
 
18. Where can I find more information about NCAA guidelines?   
 
       The NCAA High School portal is at                                                        
       https://web1.ncaa.org/hsportal/exec/hsAction.   
 
19.  What types of nontraditional programs/courses may not be accepted by the 

NCAA? 
 

        Be aware that not all nontraditional educational programs/courses meet NCAA core                                          
        course requirements. The NCAA cautions schools to be careful “with online,                              
        correspondence, credit recovery or other types of nontraditional courses that: 

 Do not have teacher-based instruction. 

 Do not require regular and ongoing interaction between the student and the 
teacher. 

 Do not have certified or qualified teachers. 

 Do not require students to complete the entire course. 

 Allow students to complete a course in a short period of time. 

https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/020/articles/030/chapters/005/
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/020/articles/030/chapters/005/
http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/health-and-physical-education
https://web1.ncaa.org/hsportal/exec/hsAction
https://web1.ncaa.org/hsportal/exec/hsAction
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 Allow students to take numerous courses at the same time, especially courses in 
the same subject area, or that are sequential in nature (e.g., Algebra I, Geometry 
and Algebra II at the same time). 

 Do not prepare students for four-year college classwork. 

 Do not verify a student’s identity.  

 Have no formal assessments or limited assessments. 

 Have no official student-grade records (e.g., transcript, grade report, student-
course activity information).” 

 
20. If a student transfers to an Indiana school from another high school, do the 

courses already listed on their transcript need to be changed to reflect Indiana’s 
state approved course titles?  Do we have to accept the courses on their 
transcript? 
 

Indiana high schools have the local option of determining whether or not to accept 
credits from another high school.  In cases where courses taken at the sending 
school are determined to align with Indiana high school courses, the previous course 
title may be used or converted to the Indiana course title.  Oftentimes an elective 
course title, even those not in Indiana’s list of course titles, are transferred, as is, to 
the receiving high school transcript.   
 
If it is determined at the local level that the course is equivalent to an Indiana 
course, a school may count these credits.  If the course taken at the student’s 
previous school is not equivalent, the school could include the course on the 
transcript but may decide that it can’t be counted towards graduation 
requirements.  If there is a question as to whether or not the student mastered the 
course standards and content, your high school has the option of allowing the 
student to “demonstrate proficiency” through the use of an end-of-course 
assessment or final exam from an equivalent course.  Alternatively, a teacher or 
department chair from that content area may verify a student’s proficiency without 
an exam.   
 
While schools have wide latitude on how to accept credits from another high school, 
it is important that the policy be consistently and fairly applied.  For example, a local 
policy that accepts, without question, transfer credits from an out-of-state public 
school but rejects transfer credits from a local non-public, non-accredited high 
school – without determining a student’s proficiency or knowledge in that subject 
area – might be considered discriminatory. 
 

21. What additional information might be helpful to send a postsecondary institution? 
 
Postsecondary institutions like to see a high school profile included with the 
student’s transcript.  This might include the following: 

 School Counselor’s Contact Information 
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 Number of AP, IB, dual credit courses offered 

 Grading scale used 

 Determination of class ranking and designation of Valedictorian, Salutatorian, 
etc. 

 Statistics on % of students who attend college 
 

22. Advanced Placement (AP) scores be listed on a high school transcript? 
 
Per the 2015-16 AP Coordinator’s Manual, only students have the right to forward 
their AP scores to colleges and universities. Therefore, schools should use caution in 
affixing AP score labels to transcripts or other records that will be sent to these 
institutions. Affixing score labels to transcripts can result in a violation of students’ 
rights and may expose schools to potential lawsuits. To avoid this possibility, the AP 
Program strongly suggests that schools institute one of the following procedures: 

a. Affix the AP score label to the back of the transcript and copy only 
the front of the transcript when sending it to colleges. 

b. Have students sign a release permitting the school to put the 
score report label on the front of the transcript.  Keep the signed 
releases with students’ files. 

(See Maintaining Student Privacy and the Confidentiality of AP Scores in the AP 
Coordinator’s Manual). 
 
 

RESOURCES 
 

Indiana Academic Standards 
 

Common Electronic Transcript Website 
 
Certificates/Non-diploma Memo  
 
Indiana Archives and Records Administration  
   
Course Titles and Descriptions, abbreviations 
 
Diploma requirements, 511 IAC 6-7.1  
Summaries  
 
E-transcripts/Parchment  
 
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) 
 
Guidance Regarding Transfer Credits of International Students 
 

https://secure-media.collegeboard.org/digitalServices/pdf/ap/2015-16-ap-coordinators-manual.pdf
https://secure-media.collegeboard.org/digitalServices/pdf/ap/2015-16-ap-coordinators-manual.pdf
http://www.doe.in.gov/standards
http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/student-assistance/indiana%E2%80%99s-common-electronic-transcript
http://www.doe.in.gov/sites/default/files/student-assistance/certificates-and-diplomas-memo-spring-2014.pdf
http://www.in.gov/iara/
http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/course-titles-and-descriptions
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=511&iaca=6&submit=+Go+
http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/student-assistance/academic-guidance
http://exchange.parchment.com/
http://exchange.parchment.com/
http://www2.ed.gov/policy/gen/guid/fpco/ferpa/index.html
https://learningconnection.doe.in.gov/Library/FilingCabinet/ViewFileDetail.aspx?lfid=31282&et=USER_GROUP&eid=220&clid=&ret=%7e%2fUserGroup%2fGroupDetailFileBookmarks.aspx%3fgid%3d220%26ugfid%3d2209
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Immunization Requirements 
 
IHSAA 
 
NCAA Eligibility Center 
 
Transcript Legislation, IC 20-33-2-13 
  

DEFINITIONS 
 

The following definitions may be helpful in preparing a student’s transcript. 
 
Absence 
An absence occurs whenever a student is not in school when school is in session and the 
student is not engaged in an educational activity approved by the local school board or 
school administrative staff.  Whether the absence is excused or unexcused, it is to be 
recorded as an absence on the official transcript.  There are statutory exceptions to 
recording a student as absent: service as a page; service during an election; appearance 
in court by subpoena; National Guard or Indiana civil air patrol duty; educationally 
related nonclassroom activity; or exhibiting at the state fair (see IC 20-33-2-14).  Also, it 
is the legal opinion of the Department of Education’s General Counsel that suspended 
and expelled students are not to be counted as absent.  
Attendance Guidelines  
 
Attendance 
An attendance record must be included as part of a student’s transcript per IC 20-33-2-
13. 
 
Class rank 
A student’s class rank is the academic position relative to the all students in the same 
graduating class and is often based on the earned GPA. 
 
Educational Record 
Educational record as defined in IC 20-33-7-1 means information that is recorded by a 
nonpublic or public school and concerns a student who is or was enrolled in the school. 
 
Grade Point Average (GPA) 
Grade Point Average is often calculated by totaling all earned points, including all 
weighted courses, on a four point scale.  If a school chooses to use a scale other than 
the four point scale, that grading scale should be explained either on the transcript or in 
an attachment to it.  Generally, the GPA is the total value of all grades earned, divided 
by the total number of credits attempted, to determine the cumulative grade point 
average earned by the student for all coursework taken in high school.  Grades for 

http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/health/immunizations
http://www.ihsaa.org/dnn/About/ByLaws/tabid/91/Default.aspx
https://web3.ncaa.org/ECWR2/NCAA_EMS/NCAA.jsp
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/020/articles/033/chapters/002/
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2014/ic/titles/020/articles/033/chapters/002/
http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/attendance/memoranda-and-forms
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/020/articles/033/chapters/002/
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/020/articles/033/chapters/002/
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/020/articles/033/chapters/007/
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credit-bearing courses (including physical education and health) that appear on the 
transcript should not be omitted from the GPA calculation. 
 
Transcript 
A transcript refers to a copy of a student’s academic record which includes all courses 
taken, grades received, academic honors bestowed, type of diploma awarded, and other 
pertinent information (required components noted in IC 20-33-2-13). When a student 
changes schools, the cumulative transcript is transferred from school to school.  When 
applying to college, students generally request that official transcripts be sent by the 
issuing school with an original signature of a school official and seal.  
 
 
Weighted grades 
It is a local option to add an additional weighted factor for honors courses taken at the 
high school level.  For example, an “A” in an honors course is given five points instead of 
four in the calculation of the GPA.  There is no standard for the use of weighted grades.  
It is a local decision to establish such a system; however, the use of a weighted grading 
system must be explained on the student’s transcript. 
 

 
 

Appendix A 
 

IC 20-33-2-13 
High school transcripts; required contents 
Section 13.  

(a) A school corporation shall record or include the following information in the 
official high school transcript for a student in high school: 

(1) Attendance records. 
(2) The student's latest ISTEP program test results under IC 20-32-5 
(3) Any secondary level and postsecondary level certificates of 

achievement earned by the student. 
(4) Immunization information from the immunization record the 

student's school keeps under IC 20-34-4-1. 
(5) Any dual credit courses taken that are included in the core transfer 

library under IC 21-42-5-4. 
(b) A school corporation may include information on a student's high school 

transcript that is in addition to the requirements of subsection (a). 
As added by P.L.1-2005, SEC.17. Amended by P.L.140-2008, SEC.8. 

 

 

https://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2016/ic/titles/020/articles/033/chapters/002/

