Office of Special Education

Posted: Tue, 08/13/2013 - 8:21am Updated: Thu, 04/24/2014 - 3:11pm

Indiana’s Part B Application for FFY2014 Open for Public Comment
March 3, 2014
To receive federal Part B special education funding from the U.S. Department of Education, the Indiana Department of Education is required to give the public an opportunity to comment on the plan in its Part B Application.  Comments will be accepted through May 2, 2014. Comments should be submitted to Becky Bowman at bbowman@doe.in.gov
 • Part B Application
 • Comment Form

UPDATE ON IMAST TRANSITION: Transitioning Away from IMAST
Click for YouTube Version
Click for Flash Version
The Transition Away From IMAST: IDOE Online ISTEP+ Resources for the Classroom
Click for YouTube Version
Click for Flash Version
Transitioning from IMAST: Resources for Parents
Click for YouTube Version
Click for Flash Version
Download slides used in this presentation

The Special Education Team ensures that all eligible students with disabilities are provided a free appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment. The following exceptionalities are included: autism spectrum disorder, communication disorder, deaf-blindness, developmental delay, emotional disability, hearing impairment, learning disability, mental disability, multiple disabilities, orthopedic impairment, other health impairment, traumatic brain injury, and visual impairment. The team ensures that Indiana is in compliance with the federal Individuals With Disabilities Education Act through monitoring of special education programs, oversight of community and residential programs, provision of mediation and due process rights, and sound fiscal management.

Email: specialeducation@doe.in.gov
Phone: (317) 232‐0570
Toll Free: (877) 851-4106

Special Education Information

Staff Directory

Name Position Email Phone
Bowman, Becky Director of Special Education bbowman@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6622
Brunner, Tracy Medicaid Specialist tbrunner@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6988
Furbee, Christina Special Education Specialist cfurbee@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9142
Henry, Sarah Special Education Support Specialist, Part B Grants slhenry@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0586
Long, Dana Due Process Coordinator, Attorney dalong@doe.in.gov (317) 232-6675
Paddack, Lesa IN*SOURCE Parent Liaison lpaddack@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0892
Parker, Robin Data Management Specialist rparker@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0864
Payton, Kim Due Process Support Specialist kpayton@doe.in.gov (317) 233-2131
Reed, Becky Special Education Specialist (Indicators 5, 11, &12) rreed@doe.in.gov (317) 234-4746
Reimlinger, Susan Excess Cost Supervisor sreimlin@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0565