Office of Special Education

Posted: Tue, 08/13/2013 - 8:21am Updated: Mon, 09/26/2016 - 10:24am

The Special Education Team ensures that all eligible students with disabilities are provided a free appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment. The following exceptionalities are included: autism spectrum disorder, communication disorder, deaf-blindness, developmental delay, emotional disability, hearing impairment, learning disability, mental disability, multiple disabilities, orthopedic impairment, other health impairment, traumatic brain injury, and visual impairment. The team ensures that Indiana is in compliance with the federal Individuals With Disabilities Education Act through monitoring of special education programs, oversight of community and residential programs, provision of mediation and due process rights, and sound fiscal management.

 

Office of Special Education Short Shares
Every Student Succeeds
Short Share 1-Conceptual Framework-https://youtu.be/jUZHX8c-Te0
Short Share 2-Equity & Access-https://youtu.be/-BRRW4XrhBE
Short Share 3-Equity & Access Continued-https://youtu.be/RbFVDZ094qQ

 

Email: specialeducation@doe.in.gov
Phone: (317) 232‐0570
Toll Free: (877) 851-4106

Special Education Information

For General Inquiries please contact specialeducation@doe.in.gov or (317) 232-0570

Staff Directory

Name Position Email/Phone
Slone, Stephanie Complaint Investigator sslone@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-7537
Symes, Kacie Complaint Investigator ksymes@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-0575
Tetrick, Traci Complaint Investigator ttetrick@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-9062
Thompson, Jennifer Part B Grants Supervisor jthompson@doe.in.gov
(317) 234-1002
Waddell, LaTrennia Excess Cost Support Specialist pwaddell@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-0585
Wright, Pam Director of Special Education pwright@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-6622
Wright, Kristy Early Learning Special Education Specialist (Indicators 6, 7 & 12) kwright@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-9142
Yockey, Steve Special Education Specialist (Indicator 13) syockey@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-9065
Zemaitis, Nancy Special Education Monitoring nzemaitis@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-0568