Office of Special Education

Posted: Tue, 08/13/2013 - 8:21am Updated: Wed, 09/10/2014 - 8:05am

UPDATE ON IMAST TRANSITION: Transitioning Away from IMAST
Click for YouTube Version
Click for Flash Version
Click for YouTube Version with Closed Captioning
Future of IMAST March 2014
The Transition from IMAST: IDOE Online ISTEP+ Resources for the Classroom
Click for YouTube Version
Click for Flash Version
Click for YouTube Version with Closed Captioning
IMAST Transition Series-ISTEP+ Online Resources
Transitioning from IMAST: Resources for Parents
Click for YouTube Version
Click for Flash Version
Click for YouTube Version with Closed Captioning
Download slides used in this presentation
Transitioning from IMAST: Standards-Based IEPs
Click for YouTube Version
Click for Flash Version
• Click for YouTube Version with Closed Captioning
Download slides used in this presentation
Transitioning from IMAST: Universal Design for Learning
Click for YouTube Version
Click for Flash Version
• Click for YouTube Version with Closed Captioning (coming soon)
Download slides used in this presentation

The Special Education Team ensures that all eligible students with disabilities are provided a free appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment. The following exceptionalities are included: autism spectrum disorder, communication disorder, deaf-blindness, developmental delay, emotional disability, hearing impairment, learning disability, mental disability, multiple disabilities, orthopedic impairment, other health impairment, traumatic brain injury, and visual impairment. The team ensures that Indiana is in compliance with the federal Individuals With Disabilities Education Act through monitoring of special education programs, oversight of community and residential programs, provision of mediation and due process rights, and sound fiscal management.

Email: specialeducation@doe.in.gov
Phone: (317) 232‐0570
Toll Free: (877) 851-4106

Special Education Information

Staff Directory

Name Position Email Phone
Sievers-Coffer, Kristan Special Education Specialist (Indicators 4, 9, & 10) & General Inquiries ksievers@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0595
Simpson, Jennifer Complaint Investigator jsimpson@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0575
Tetrick, Traci Complaint Investigator ttetrick@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9062
Thompson, Jennifer Part B Grants Supervisor jthompson@doe.in.gov (317) 234-1002
Waddell, LaTrennia Excess Cost Support Specialist pwaddell@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0585
Yockey, Steve Special Education Specialist (Indicator 13) syockey@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9065
Zemaitis, Nancy Special Education Monitoring nzemaitis@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0568