Federal Title Grant Programs and Support

Posted: Thu, 10/10/2013 - 2:44pm Updated: Mon, 07/11/2016 - 1:13pm

Title I, Part A

 

Basic Title I:

The mission of Title I is to provide a continuum of services and resources to Title I districts and charter schools that enrich curriculum and instruction, promote interaction and coordination of supplementary services and resources, and result in excellence and high expectations for educators and students. Through collective efforts, we endeavor to increase accountability for all participants in the educational process; enhance cooperation between school and home; provide educators in Title I schools with greater autonomy for shared decision-making; and most importantly, promote increased educational performance of students attending Title I schools.

The U.S. Department of Education has offered State Education Agencies (SEAs) the ability to request flexibility regarding specific requirements of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB) in exchange for rigorous and comprehensive State-developed plans to improve educational outcomes for all students, close achievement gaps, increase equity, and improve the quality of instruction. Indiana is currently implementing an approved ESEA Flexibility Waiver, that can be found here: http://www.doe.in.gov/esea. This waiver impacts accountability and school improvement structures for Title I schools.

Prior to Indiana being granted a flexibility waiver, the SES (Supplemental Educational Services) program allowed for funding for Title I Tutoring to outside organizations. As Indiana has a waiver in place and our accountability and school improvement system has changed, SES no longer exists in Indiana. All Title I funds are distributed directly to eligible Local Education Agencies (LEAs), districts, or charter schools.

Key Documents

Staff Directory

Name and Position Email Phone
Barber, Jeff
Director, Federal Title Grant Programs and Support
jbarber@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9143
Cummins, Linda
Comparability & Title Support Specialist
cummins@doe.in.gov (317) 233-9228
Dillon, Katie
Title I Grant Specialist
kdillon@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0572
Fields, Sarah
Title I Grant Specialist
sfields@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9138
Garrison, Lloyd
Title II/RLIS Grant Specialist
lgarrison@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0544
Lamey, Elizabeth
Title I Grant Specialist
eandrews@doe.in.gov (317) 234-6646
Luther, Bill
Title I Grant Specialist
wluther@doe.in.gov (317) 232-9044
Martz, Brenda
Federal Grants/Title I Coordinator
bmartz@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0593
McManamon, Heather
Fiscal/Reporting Specialist
hmcmanamon@doe.in.gov (000) 000-0000
Reedus-Carson, Lenee'
Federal Grants/N & D Coordinator
lreedus@doe.in.gov (317) 232-0540