State School Bus Committee

Posted: Fri, 09/30/2011 - 10:22am Updated: Wed, 01/08/2014 - 8:25am

Composition and Members

The State School Bus Committee is composed of voting members and non-voting (advisory) members representing various organizations. The current members and the organizations they represent are:

Indiana State School Bus Committee
Voting Members

Mr. Pete Baxter, Chairperson
Seymour, IN 47274
(812) 580-0002
petebaxter@cinergymetro.net

Mr. Ron Chew
Indiana Association of School Bus Drivers
7061 E. Co. Rd. 600 S.
Straughn, IN 47387
(765) 332-2338
rlchew@nltc.net
Mr. Dwayne Vandiver
School Transportation Association of Indiana
Noblesville Community School Corporation
1775 Field Drive
Noblesville, IN 46060
(317) 773-7203
dwayne_vandiver@mail.nobl.k12.in.us
Dr. Joseph O’Neil, M.D., MPH, FAAP
Governor's Council for Impaired and Dangerous Driving
Indiana University Department of Pediatrics
James Whitcomb Riley Hospital for Children
702 Barnhill Drive, Room 1601
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5210
(317) 274-4846
joeoneil@iupui.edu
Mr. Carl Brown
Indiana School for the Visually Impaired
Indiana School for the Deaf
1200 E. 42nd. Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 550-4852
crbrown@isd.k12.in.us
Ms. Claudia Koerner
Indiana Department of Revenue
Motor Carrier Services Division
5252 Decatur Boulevard, Suite R
Indianapolis, IN 46241
(317) 615-7210
cmellott@dor.in.gov
Mr. Joey Dallas
Indiana State School Boards Association
8416 East SR 252
Morgantown, IN 46160
(812) 597-4006
joseph_dallas@sbcglobal.net
Ms. Shannon R. Dickson
Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Program Director
Credential Programs
(317) 234-4619
sdickson@bmv.in.gov
Dr. James W. Hanna
Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents
Rossville Consolidated School District
1 Robert Egly Drive
Rossville, IN 46065
(765) 379-2990
jhanna@rcsd.k12.in.us
 
Non-Voting Members
Sergeant Chris Kath
Indiana State Police
Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division
5252 Decatur Boulevard, Suite-J
Indianapolis, Indiana 46241
ckath@isp.in.gov
Office: (317) 615-7410
Fax: (317) 821-2350
Mr. Mark Clawson
Indiana Township Association
Delaware Community School Corporation
7821 State Road 3 North
Muncie, IN 47303
maclawson@delcomschools.org
Mr. Kent McDaniel
Indiana Transportation Association
107 South Indiana Avenue - Room 003
Bloomington, Indiana 47405-7000
Voice: (812) 855-8143
Fax: (812) 855-8022
kemcdani@indiana.edu
Mr. John Perkins
Indiana Association of School Business
Indianapolis Public Schools
120 East Walnut Street, Room B-05
Tx: (317) 226-3601
Fx: (317) 226-4934
perkinsj@ips.k12.in.us
Mr. Clifford Zehr
Indiana Association of School Bus Distributors
Kerlin Bus Sales and Leasing
9294 South SR 15, P.O. Box 157
Silver Lake, IN 46982
(260) 352-2722
clifford.zehr@kerlinbus.com
 

What We Do

  • Chapter 3. State School Bus Committee
    • Powers; Standards; Construction; Equipment; Inspection;
      Certificate of Inspection Decals
      • 20-27-3-4
    • School Bus Committee Composition; Meetings
      • 20-27-3-1
      • 20-27-3-2
      • 20-27-3-3
  • Chapter 7. School Bus Inspection and Registration
    • 20-27-7-1 Annual inspection of buses
    • 20-27-7-2 Inspection time
    • 20-27-7-3 Certificate of inspection
    • 20-27-7-4 Certificate of inspection display
    • 20-27-7-5 Certificate of inspection upon transfer of ownership
    • 20-27-7-6 Inspection of buses older than 12 years
    • 20-27-7-7 Certificate of inspection after damage by accident
    • 20-27-7-8 Inspection requirements
    • 20-27-7-9 Bus maintenance
    • 20-27-7-10 Temporary certificate of inspection due to material defect
    • 20-27-7-11 Temporary certificate of inspection; repair
    • 20-27-7-12 Certificate of inspection after repair
    • 20-27-7-13 Out-of-service order and certificate; issuance
    • 20-27-7-14 Display of out-of-service certificate
    • 20-27-7-15 Out-of-service order; appeal