Thursday, July 6, 2017

Adam Baker
Press Secretary
(317) 232-0550


INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) announced today the 2016-2017 State Finalists for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The eight Indiana finalists will now move forward to the national level.

“Proficiency in mathematics and science is vital to a well-rounded education,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. “Today we recognize the educators who dedicate themselves to excellence in these subjects and I am extremely proud of our Indiana finalists. They represent our state well.”

The Presidential Awards are the nation's highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science). Since 1983, more than 4,700 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and their profession. Award recipients serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education. In addition, recipients receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a trip to Washington D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

Indiana finalists underwent a rigorous application process and were selected by a state committee for their outstanding qualifications. All eight finalists will participate in an honor and recognition luncheon this fall. Below is a complete list of the 2016-2017 finalists:

Indiana Finalists for Math:

  • Sean Bird - Covenant Christian High School, Indianapolis
  • David Ferris - Noblesville High School
  • Diane Rodriguez - Bloomfield Jr./Sr. High School
  • Richard Ziuchkovski - Anderson High School

Indiana Finalists for Science:

  • John Gensic - Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation
  • Kirstin Milks - Bloomington High School South
  • Stacie Stoffregen - Greencastle Middle School
  • Robyn Witty - Roncalli High School

For more information about the Presidential Awards, please visit: To view a list of past awardees, please visit: