Thursday, September 28, 2017

Adam Baker
Press Secretary
(317) 232-0550


INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Department of Education today congratulated the Indiana recipients of the U.S. Department of Education’s (USDOE) Blue Ribbon Schools Award.

“When provided with a nurturing environment, a dedicated educator, and unwavering support, we know every child is capable of achieving at their highest level,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. “I want to congratulate and thank Indiana’s Blue Ribbon Schools for creating an educational atmosphere where excellence thrives and students are challenged every day to reach their full potential.”

Created in 1982, the Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools that are either high performing or have improved student achievement to high levels – especially among disadvantaged students. Each year, USDOE awards schools whose students attain and maintain academic excellence. The Blue Ribbon program is part of a larger USDOE effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school leadership and teaching practices, across the nation. In November, USDOE will hold a reception in the nation’s capital to formally recognize the awarded schools.

The following schools are Indiana recipients of the 2017 Blue Ribbon Schools Award:

  • Barr-Reeve Elementary School – Barr-Reeve Community Schools
  • College Wood Elementary School – Carmel Clay Schools
  • Eden Elementary School – Greenfield-Central Community Schools
  • James Whitcomb Riley Elementary School – New Castle Community Schools
  • Maple Elementary School – Avon Community School Corp
  • White Lick Elementary School – Brownsburg Community Schools
  • Zionsville Pleasant View Elementary School – Zionsville Community Schools

For more information on the Blue Ribbon Schools Program, please visit: To learn more about Indiana’s participation in the Blue Ribbon Schools Program, please visit: