
 
 

MEMORANDUM 

 
TO: Principals, Deans, Attendance Officers 

 
FROM: Lisa Truitt, State Attendance Officer 
  
RE: Enrollment Restrictions and Denial of Enrollment 

 
DATE: September 6, 2019 

 
Children cannot be denied enrollment for the following reasons: 

 
• Lack of a birth certificate. A student must have a birth certificate or other reliable proof of the 

student’s date of birth. IC 20-33-2-10(a)(2). If a birth certificate or other reliable proof of the 
date of birth is not provided within 30 days of enrollment the school shall notify the Indiana 
State Police Clearinghouse for Information on Missing Children & Missing Endangered Adults. 
The form IN-Clearinghouse Birth Record Enrollment Documentation may be emailed to the 
Clearinghouse at missingchildren@isp.in.gov (IC 20-33-2-10(c)). The email “Subject line” should 
read “Birth Record – Last Name, First Name”. 

 
• Showing up late for the beginning of the semester. The compulsory school attendance law 

requires attendance and requires the school administrator to ensure that children of compulsory 
school attendance age are enrolled. IC 20-33-2-29. 

 
• Not having rental receipts, a mortgage document, driver’s license, social security card, lease 

agreement or other forms of official identification. State law does not require any document 
with an address as a prerequisite to enrollment. Asking for any document to assist in 
determining legal settlement or right to attend school based on the location of the residence is 
appropriate. However, if the parent does not have documents or proof of residence a child 
cannot be denied attendance for that reason alone. Attendance officers [or school officials] have 
authority to investigate the residence of parents to ensure compliance with state law. Children 
may not be removed from school without due process of law. IC 20-33-8-17 and IC 20-33-8-19. 

 
• Not having an Individualized Education Program (IEP). The student must be enrolled 

immediately and provided special education services. Schools must convene a case conference 
within 10 days to review and revise the student’s IEP. Students on an IEP must be enrolled 
immediately and provided services comparable to those described in the student’s IEP from the 
previous school until the school either adopts the student’s IEP or develops and implements a 
new IEP. 

 
 
 
 

https://www.doe.in.gov/sites/default/files/attendance/clearinghouse-birth-record-enrollment-documentation.pdf
mailto:missingchildren@isp.in.gov


• Not being a citizen of the country or the state. A child must be in school in Indiana if the child 
intends to remain in the state for at least 30 days. IC 20-33-2-3(2)(B); 511 IAC 1-7-1. Note: 
Enrollment must be immediate when intent to remain for 30 days is determined, without regard 
to legal domicile. IC 20-33-2-3. 

 
• Being an undocumented alien. Children of undocumented aliens must be allowed to attend 

public school. Plyler v. Doe, 457 US 202 (1982). 
 

• Not having a stable residence. Homeless children must be accommodated and may not be 
removed from school for legal settlement reasons alone. Contact the McKinney-Vento 
Education Program Coordinator at mckvento@doe.in.gov. 

 
•  If a parent moves out of the district during the school year the child may remain in the school at 

the parent’s discretion until at least the end of the semester. IC 20-26-11-2(8). 
 

• Lack of immunization. Children must be enrolled in school whether or not they have required 
immunizations. If they do not have the required immunizations and the school refuses to grant a 
statutorily allowed 20 day waiver, the child may not be permitted to attend school beyond the 
first day of school. IC 20-34-4-5(c)(1) & (2). 

 
• Not speaking English. (Lau v. Nichols, 414 US 563 (1974)). 

 
• Fifth Year Seniors (students who dropped out and return). The student has the right to obtain 

their high school diploma. Because of how the cohort is established, these students will remain 
in the cohort of the school where the student was expected to have graduated in four years. For 
example, if a student was in School A’s cohort at the time of the student’s expected graduation 
date and did not graduate but subsequently enrolled at School B to graduate in a fifth year, the 
student would remain in School A’s cohort for accountability purposes. Please note that a five 
year graduation rate will be utilized in A-F accountability beginning with the 15/16 school year 
in addition to the traditional four year graduation rate. 

 
• Students over 18. In Indiana, individuals have a constitutional right to attend school until they 

have received a high school diploma. Receipt of a GED is not equivalent to a high school diploma 
and does not extinguish the right to earn a high school diploma. Schools do have the right to 
determine the placement, so the school could determine that an older student not attend the 
traditional high school day but rather earn credits through online credit recovery, evening 
classes, etc. The student could be required to attend adult education classes rather than the high 
school, but cannot be denied the right to attend school and earn a diploma. Per the Compulsory 
School Attendance law, a student is required to attend until the age of 18. This code does not 
specify an age of which they can no longer attend. 

 
The final arbiter of the right to attend school and the determination of legal settlement is the Indiana State 
Board of Education. IC 20-26-11-15; IC 20-33-2-45. The parent of any child denied the right to attend 
school or expelled due to lack of legal settlement should be advised of the right to appeal to the Board. 
Students who are 18 or older should also be advised of their right to request a hearing, as those rights now 
belong to the students. 

 
Please contact Lisa Truitt, State Attendance Officer at LTruitt1@doe.in.gov or 317-233-6016. 
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