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Do not apply for your renewal more than 45 days prior to the expiration date. The date of renewal will be the date 

payment is received for the license, and the expiration date will correspond. Applying for a renewal far in advance of 

the expiration date is unnecessary and will result in loss of the period of validity between the date payment is 

received and the actual expiration date. 

Effective July 1, 2012, applicants for initial licensure of any type and applicants for all renewals must show proof of 

valid CPR/AED/Heimlich certification. To see approved CPR/AED/Heimlich training programs, click here. 

Renewal Coursework 

Approved renewal course work may include education courses and/or courses taken in one or more areas on the 

teaching license. Courses used for license renewal must be from a regionally accredited institution and must have 

been earned after the issue date of the license you are trying to renew. The licensing advisor at an Indiana 

institution can advise you about approved renewal courses at that institution. Renewal courses earned out-of-state 

do not need to be pre-approved as long as the course work is earned in professional education or in one or more of 

the licensing areas. For approval of other out-of-state courses for renewal, e-mail your request to 

licensinghelp@doe.in.gov (link sends e-mail). Renewal coursework may be either at graduate or the undergraduate level. 

However, if you hold an administration and supervision license or a school services personnel license, graduate 

coursework is strongly encouraged. 

License Expiration Information 

All licenses that are valid on the first day of the academic school year shall be considered valid for the duration of 

that academic school year. (Professional Standards Board; Rule 47, Sec 2; filed Dec 10, 1975, 2:50 p.m.: Rules and 

Regs. 1976, p. 249) NOTE: Transferred from the Commission on Teacher Training and Licensing (530 IAC 2-2-3) to 

the Indiana State Board of Education (511 IAC 10-2-3) by P.L.20-1984, SECTION 206, effective July 1, 1984. NOTE: 

http://www.doe.in.gov/licensing/cpr-heimlich-maneuver-aed-certification
mailto:licensinghelp@doe.in.gov


Transferred from the Indiana State Board of Education (511 IAC 10-2-3) to the Professional Standards Board (515 

IAC 1-2-3) by P.L.46-1992, SECTION 19, effective July 1, 1992. 

There is no penalty for not completing the required course work after the expiration date of the license; however, 

the license will not be renewed until the requirements have been met. 

Required Documents: 

• Valid CPR card from IDOE approved provider 

• Official transcripts showing 6 hours of renewal coursework if taken at an out of state college/university.  If your 

coursework was taken at an Indiana college/university, the application will electronically be routed to the licensing 

advisor there for recommendation and, in that case, the transcripts are not required. 

Step-By-Step Instructions: 

1) Click on the LVIS Portal Link. 
2) Select “Create Profile” 
3) Fill out all the required fields and click “Create Profile.” 
4) Go to your personal e-mail and find the e-mail(s) LVIS just sent you.  It will be from “System Administrator.”  If it ended up 

in your SPAM/JUNK e-mail folder, you need to add the e-mail address to your contact or safe senders list. 
5) Click the link “Verify e-mail.”   
6) Log into your LVIS account.  
7) Click “Add Application.” 
8) Select “Renewal” 
9) Select the license you are renewing.   
10) Select Coursework for renewal. 
11) Click Next. 
12) Click “Add Recommending Institution Entry”.  Enter the college where you did your coursework for the renewal.  Select the 

state.  If Indiana, select the Indiana College/University.  If out-of-state, type in the name of the college/university.  
13) Click Next 
14) Answer the questions.  Upload required documentation, if requested.   
15) Click Next. 
16) Upload the required documentation and optional documentation.  Read the paragraphs below the required documentation for 

instructions on what to do if you don’t have the required documents or if they won’t upload   
17) Click “Next.”   
18) If you have everything completed, you will be able to “Submit Application.”  If not, you need to fix what is 

missing.   Missing materials will be in RED. 
19) Click the link to pay for all pending applications. $35.00 + $1.72 processing fee. 
20) Mark the box under the “Pay?” 
21) Fill out all the Billing information. 
22) Click “Review Summary.” 
23) Click box under Refund Policy. 
24) Click “Submit.” 
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