
 

 

 
 
 
 

MEMORANDUM 
 
TO:  Indiana Schools 
 
FROM: Kelly Bauder, Staff Attorney 
 
RE:  Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse/Neglect 
 
 
In the last several months, several schools have been in the news for failing to report suspected 
child abuse/neglect in a timely manner.  I have been attempting to reach out to schools in an effort 
to make sure they are aware of the mandatory reporting requirements.  It is important to know any 
person who has a reason to believe a child is a victim of abuse or neglect has a duty to make a 
report to the Department of Child Services (DCS) or the police.  If you hear about or see child 
abuse/neglect you must report it immediately.  Indiana Code § 31-33-5-1.  If you suspect a child is 
being abused or neglected call Indiana’s Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline at 1-800-800-5556 or 
local law enforcement.  The police and/or DCS are the appropriate authorities to investigate these 
matters.    
 
Failing to report suspected child abuse or neglect is a crime in Indiana.  If you fail to make a 
report, it is a Class B Misdemeanor, which is punishable up to 180 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.  
Indiana Code § 31-33-22-1(a).  Two school employees were recently arrested in charged for 
waiting six days to make a report.  Just telling another employee at a school is not enough to 
protect yourself from criminal charges, it just takes minutes to report suspected child abuse and 
neglect and you can report anonymously.  Several years ago, an Indiana principal was charged and 
convicted of failing to report suspected child abuse.  The principal waited four hours to report the 
abuse while conducting his own investigation.      
 
Schools can also contact the DOE if a school official is terminated or resigns due to child abuse or 
neglect so the Department can consider possible action against the person’s license.  The 
Department in collaboration with several groups, including the United States Attorney’s office, 
have developed at video that will be shown at the Indiana School Safety Specialist Academy on 
May 9-10, 2016 that covers this topic and the serious nature of failing to report suspected abuse or 
neglect.   
 
If you have any questions about reporting, please feel free to contact me at 317-232-6646 or 
kbauder@doe.in.gov.   
 
 

mailto:kbauder@doe.in.gov

