Posted: Thu, 11/07/2019 - 10:16am Updated: Tue, 04/28/2020 - 7:46am

The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) is the prime recipient of IDEA Part B grant awards under both the Special Education – Grants to States Program and the Special Education – Preschool Grants Program. The Special Education team is responsible for administering those grants. That administrative responsibility includes the general supervision requirements of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), as well as program and fiscal monitoring of sub-recipients required by federal statutes and regulations.

Funds under this program are combined with state and local funds to provide a free appropriate public education (FAPE) to children with disabilities. Permitted expenditures include the salaries of special education teachers and costs associated with related services personnel, such as speech therapists and psychologists. States may use funds reserved for other state-level activities for a variety of specified activities, including:

  • support and direct services;
  • technical assistance and personnel preparation;
  • assisting LEAs in providing positive behavioral interventions and supports; and
  • improving the use of technology in the classroom.

Some portion of funds reserved for other state-level activities must be used for monitoring, enforcement, and complaint investigation, and to establish and implement the mediation process required by Sec. 615(e) of IDEA, including providing for the cost of mediators and support personnel.

Part B Grants (611 & 619) Maintenance of Effort (MOE)
Special Education Excess Cost
School-Based Medicaid Single Audit A-133

Staff Directory - Special Education Funding

Name Position Email/Phone Number
Jennifer Thompson Assistant Director of Special Education - Fiscal jthompson@doe.in.gov
(317) 234-1002
Sarah Fields Senior Excess Cost Specialist sfields@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-9138
LaTrennia "Trennie" Waddell Fiscal Support Specialist

 

pwaddell@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-0585
Deepali Jani Fiscal Specialist (Part B Grants & A-133 Audit) djani@doe.in.gov
(317) 233-3372
Evelyn Brown Fiscal Specialist (Part B Grants) evbrown@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-6986‬
Tracy Brunner Part B Grants and Medicaid Specialist tbrunner@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-6988
Lynn Fordyce Fiscal Specialist (Part B Grants & MOE) lfordyce@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-0565
Robin Parker Special Education & Grants Specialist (Contracts) rparker@doe.in.gov
(317) 232-0864