Posted: Tue, 08/13/2013 - 8:21am Updated: Thu, 08/16/2018 - 2:29pm
The Indiana General Assembly passed legislation to provide that developmental delay is a disability category solely for students who are at least 3 years of age and less than 9 years of age. More information can be found here.
Information concerning Dyslexia can be found on this IDOE page

 

Please click here to sign up for the weekly listserv from the Office of Special Education. You will receive a digest each week that includes all of the information that was shared from our office.

All students, including those with disabilities, are held to high expectations and have equitable access to educational opportunities that enrich their lives and prepare them for future success.

Equity and Access equals outcome

Shared Responsibility; High Expectations; Shared Accountability Shared Responsibility; High Expectations; Shared Accountability Shared Responsibility; High Expectations; Shared Accountability Shared Responsibility; High Expectations; Shared Accountability Collaboration; Instruction; Assessment; Curriculum Collaboration; Instruction; Assessment; Curriculum Collaboration; Instruction; Assessment; Curriculum Collaboration; Instruction; Assessment; Curriculum Universal Design for Learning; Multi-tiered System of Supports Universal Design for Learning; Multi-tiered System of Supports Universal Design for Learning; Multi-tiered System of Supports Universal Design for Learning; Multi-tiered System of Supports Equity + Access=Outcomes

Our goal as educators is to improve outcomes for all students. This can be accomplished through a system that ensures equity and access. Equitable Access is the guarantee that all students are provided the necessary and individualized  supplementary aids and services, accommodations, modifications or supports to meaningfully participate in the general education curriculum. Equitable access must be accompanied by a school wide acceptance or belief in shared responsibility, shared accountability and high expectations. According to the Dear Colleague letter on the provision of a Free Appropriate Public Education (November 2015) and the Every Student Succeeds Act (December 2015), improving outcomes also requires a strong core curriculum, high quality instruction, unbiased assessment that guides instruction, and collaboration among administrators, general and special education staff, parents, and the community. Multi-tiered systems of support and universal design for learning provide the foundation necessary to reach the overall goal.

For timely responses to Special Education questions and information requests, please contact our office by:

Additional Special Education Contacts and Information:

   For General Inquiries please contact specialeducation@doe.in.gov or (317) 232-0570

Program/Topic Staff Telephone Email
General Line Operator (317) 232-0570 specialeducation@doe.in.gov
Special Education & Grants Specialist Tracy Brunner (317) 233-6988 tbrunner@doe.in.gov
Excess Cost and Part B Grant Specialist Sarah Fields (317) 232-9138 sfields@doe.in.gov
Special Education Specialist Sarah Larrison (317) 232-9186 slarrison@doe.in.gov
Due Process Coordinator, Attorney Dana Long (317) 232-6675 dalong@doe.in.gov
Data Specialist Brandon Myers (317) 232-9144 bmyers@doe.in.gov
IN*SOURCE Parent Liaison - Contractor Lesa Paddack (317) 232-0892 lpaddack@doe.in.gov
Special Education & Grants Specialist Robin Parker (317) 232-0864 rparker@doe.in.gov
Due Process Assistant Kim Payton (317) 233-2131 kpayton@doe.in.gov
Supervisory of Residential Applications Susan Reimlinger (317) 232-0565 sreimlin@doe.in.gov
Complaint Investigator/Medicaid Specialist Patrick Rhodes (317) 232-7537 prhodes@doe.in.gov