Posted: Fri, 07/22/2016 - 9:30am Updated: Mon, 07/09/2018 - 3:17pm

The Indiana State Board of Education adopts course and credit requirements for earning a high school diploma. The newest set of requirements went into effect for students who entered high school in the fall of 2012 (Class of 2016 and below). Under current requirements, students have the option of earning four diploma types:

  • General;
  • Core 40;
  • Core 40 with Academic Honors (AHD); or
  • Core 40 with Technical Honors (THD).

Diploma Requirements

Core 40 Legislation

The Indiana General Assembly made completion of Core 40 a graduation requirement for all students beginning with those who entered high school in the fall of 2007. The legislation includes an opt-out provision for parents who determine their students could receive a greater benefit from the General Diploma. The legislation also made Core 40 a minimum college admission requirement for the state’s public four-year universities beginning in the fall of 2011.

Information Regarding the Core 40 Diplomas

Related Links

  • The American Diploma Project - In 2001, Indiana was one of five states (along with Kentucky, Massachusetts, Nevada, and Texas) selected to participate in the American Diploma Project. This national initiative was created to ensure high school graduation standards and assessments across the nation accurately reflect the knowledge and skills that colleges and businesses really require of high school graduates.